Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Teen captures attention

The highlight of the 34th annual Upper Pinellas Junior Bowling Association YouthAdult Tournament was Joe May's 300 in the A Division.

May, 13, a Tarpon Springs Middle School seventh-grader, produced his first perfect performance and five strikes in his second game for 17 straight strikes. He finished fourth at 1,212 with partner Phil Peters in the recent tourney that had 71 entries.

May is the second youngest player to roll a 300 in Pinellas County. St. Petersburg's Tony Russo recorded his at age 12 nine years ago.

Kimber and Darlene Bellant won the C Division title, but it was close. The Bellants toppled 1,233 pins, beating Aaron Malarick and Jerry Camilleri by two. Erin Carpenter and Brandon Maged finished third.

Chad Sunday and Kathy Weaver captured the A Division crown with a 1,302. They were followed by Jillian Pavlak-Mike Fick (1,282) and Teresa Scanlon-Paul Micallef (1,225).

Kristi Montone and Linda Stverak were the B Division winners with a 1,385 pinfall, and Franke Scharaldi-Tulio Herran won the D championship at 1,231.

HOWARD WINS: Scott Howard, Tarpon Springs, defeated Clearwater's Brian Korcak 258-158 to win the Nick Francis' Eliminator and $225 at Countryside Lanes. Korcak received $175.

DOUBLES WINNERS: Jim Sowers and Larry Swope won the 100-and-over tournament and $310 at Dunedin Lanes.

AROUND THE LANES: High scorers _ Joe May, 300 at Tarpon Lanes; Scott Howard, 809, and Sean Morrison, 300-732, AMF Clearwater; George Allen, 300-728, Pat Klotchko, 300-730, Ron Vassallo, 300, Chris Samuels, 300-767, and Scott Rosenberger, 299-768, Countryside; Joe Gagliardo, 300-737, Ken Harp, 300-760, and Glenn Boebinger Jr., 299-739, Seminole; Bill Hevel, 300-729, Jack Schwind, 300-771, Dick Rohrs, 299-771, Chris Andres, 278-803, Jim Andrew, 300-775, Ken Puchowski, 300-733, Chuck Brush, 300-766, and Joe Bereczki, 299-782, Liberty; Barbara German, 300, and Mike Olesh, 299-747, Dunedin; Bob Bryer, 300-753, Sunshine; Tom Wheeler, 300-796, Rainbow; Matt Mayhugh, 300-700, AMF Kenneth City; Tim Quick, 299-763, Rainbow; and Joe Riendeau, 280-805, Tarpon.