1. Archive

Rotarians sponsor student awards

The mood was celebratory last week at the Citrus Springs Community Center during a breakfast program to honor elementary school students selected as Upward Bound recipients.

The program, sponsored by Citrus County's five Rotary clubs, recognized students who have made significant improvements in their grades or attitudes. The children were treated to breakfast and given certificates.

The guest speaker was Crystal River High School student Colleen Bennett, a former Upward Bound recipient herself, who talked to the children about setting short- and long-term goals to achieve their dreams.

"Don't stop setting those goals now. Think about all those things in life you want and work hard," she said.

"You have to keep on this path in order to do well."

Colleen is a senior headed to the University of Florida, where she will major in journalism.

These are the Upward Bound elementary school students for the second grading period:

Citrus Springs Elementary School: Max Coleman, Jessica Dunlap, Andrew Dupler, Savannah Kramer, Samuel Mayor, Krystal Frost, Vivica Jackson, Walter Jackson, Rebecca Miranda, Barbara Simmons, Cory Thomas, Justin Vandall.

Crystal River Primary School: Sarah Kern, Whitney Perkins, Joey Roper, Laura Starry, Briana Bivins, Randy Duncan, Ataviah Lucallen, Von'Jieona Smith.

Floral City Elementary School: Becca Harding, Kristen Miller, Jesse Van Wagner, Samantha Mason, Marcus Massey, Monica Sparacino.

Forest Ridge Elementary School: Kaitlyn Barber, Elizabeth Brideau, Ryan Gardner, Jonathan Lambert, Timothy Thompson, Chandler Brothers, Jordan Cooper, Phillip Elliott, Torie Johns, Amber Lolly, Nicole Romanelli, Aaron Slater.

Hernando Elementary School: Michael Lofton, Lauren Powers, Antoinette Myles, Jordan Boney, Mariah Cormier, Ashley Ellis, LaVelle Williams, Raven Smith, Brittany LaFleur.

Homosassa Elementary School: Kevin Myers, Michael Rouse, Kristy Thompson, Megan Oliver, Tiffany Gajus.

Inverness Primary School: Jenna Gilbert, Jacob Turner, Shuntell Golsby, Cheyenne Smith, Taylor June, Ashley Parrott, Korey Reese, Jake DeCasper, Cody Corbin, Willanda Grice.

Lecanto Primary School: Bradley Mann, Derek Ferguson, Marissa Herrin, Shaine McDonald, Curtis Duvall, Justin Degolyer, Gunner Stone, Sharon Benedict, Nicolette Wolski, Belinda Maxey.

Pleasant Grove Elementary School: Deseray Ford, Cody Kuechle, Keahanna McCall, Justin Wright, Billy Bevis, Kyle Burns, Ronnie Eppa, Celina Rodriguez, Kimberly Shepherd.

Pope John Paul Catholic School: Raymond Briercheck, Austin Porambo, Tiffany Paradiso.

Rock Crusher Elementary School: Brittany Reeves, Michael Ware, Adam Dix, Tyler Walters, David Vreeland, Alisha Giles, Charles Natale.

West Coast Christian School: Justin Hedge.