Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Eagles earn Ippolito win in big way

With its powerful lineup, Brandon dominated the Tony Ippolito Memorial Tournament in the Eagles Nest. They won the team title Saturday with 396 points, more than 150 ahead of second place Kissimmee St. Cloud (245.5).

The Eagles crowned 10 champions and a runner-up.

"We are wrestling just great," Brandon coach Russ Cozart said. "It is hard for me to believe, but this team is even better than it was at the first of the season. They are even learning new techniques."

The only other Hillsborough County team in the top five was Riverview, fifth with 164.5.

"We have been battling illness and injuries all week, so we weren't at our best this weekend," Riverview coach Willie Sargable said. "But we have two weeks to get healed up before districts. That is a decent time for teenagers to heal."

Bradenton Manatee (186) was third, Pinellas Park (183) fourth.

The Eagles struck quickly with 62.5 points after two rounds.

David Craig, rated the top 171-pounder in the nation and winner at the Ironman Tournament in Akron, Ohio, in December, continued to be impressive. In the final, the Eagle sophomore pinned Riverview senior Brian Johnson in 3 minutes, 2 seconds.

Junior two-time Brandon state champion Cesar Grajales put St. Cloud senior Todd Squires down 10-3 at 125 to remain undefeated in Florida competition.

Sean Joyce (112) pinned Pinellas Park's Felipe Queiroz at 5:19. Joyce's brother Ryan, a senior, scored a fall over Riverview's Raphael Iglesias in 3:32 at 135. Junior 160-pounder Rocky Cozart and senior Rashard Goff (215) also had pins in the championship round for Brandon _ Goff over Shane Hamm of Bradenton Bayshore at 3:45 and Cozart against Kyle Mills of Manatee at 5:22.

Other Brandon champions included Keith Simmons (275), Tommy Hutchinson (145), Eddie Hutchinson (140) and Franklin Gomez (119).

Alex Enriquez (152) and Alex Virgadamo (189) won titles for Jesuit and Tim Burdine (103) won for Durant.