Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


1975-76: Citrus, Crystal River, Gulf, Hernando, Hudson and Pasco high schools. Then called the "Gulf Coast Conference," the new alignment was especially helpful to Hernando and Crystal River, which were isolated with schools in Tampa and St. Petersburg.

1989-90: Central, Crystal River, Hernando, Lecanto, South Sumter, Springstead, Gulf, Hudson, Land O'Lakes, Pasco, Ridgewood, Zephyrhills.

1991-92: Central, Citrus, Crystal River, Hernando, Lecanto, South Sumter.

The 12-member conference broke apart when River Ridge opened in fall 1991. All Pasco County teams, plus Springstead, split off to form the Sunshine Athletic Conference (SAC).

1998-99: Central, Citrus, Crystal River, Dunnellon, Hernando, Lecanto, South Sumter.

1999-2000: Central, Citrus, Crystal River, Hernando, Lecanto, Springstead, South Sumter. Dunnellon fit in the GCAC during the 1990s with its geographic and district ties, but when 1999-2000 redistricting put the Tigers with northern teams, they opted out. Springstead stepped in, leaving the SAC due to scheduling issues with Pasco schools.

2000-01: Central, Citrus, Crystal River, Hernando, Lecanto, Springstead. The conference played without South Sumter for the first time in 14 years. The Raiders were then a Class 2A football school while all the GCAC teams were 3A in football and 4A in other sports.

2003-04: Central, Citrus, Crystal River, Hernando, Lecanto, Nature Coast, Springstead. Nature Coast opened last year, giving Hernando County four schools in the GCAC to Citrus County's three.

Compiled by Times staff writer John Schwarb and Times news researcher Mary Mellstrom.