1. Archive


Brian Jonczy has been named an account executive for Paradise Advertising & Marketing Inc., St. Petersburg. Jonczy was an account executive for Cramer-Kasselt Advertising, Orlando.


John B. Zumwalt III has been awarded the 2004 Gov. A.W. Gilchrist Award by the Florida Institute of Consulting Engineers. Zumwalt is president and chief executive of PBS&J, Tampa.


McKibbon Hotel Management Inc., Tampa, has named Madeline Armendariz sales and service coordinator for the Residence Inn by Marriott, Tampa Sabal Park; and has named Traci L. Sherman sales manager for the Residence Inn by Marriott Tampa, Westshore Airport. Armendariz was a front office supervisor for the Homestead Resort in Midway, Utah; and Sherman was a guest service associate and sales manager for Comfort Suites and Hampton Inn, Goldsboro, N.C.


Maury A. Bowen has been promoted to regional sales director for AmeriPlan Corp., St. Petersburg. Bowen was a broker.


Robert "Chip" Birthisel has been named a member of the Tampa law firm GrayRobinson. Birthisel will concentrate in the firm's maritime, environmental and transportation practice groups, and was a partner for Williams Mullen in Norfolk, Va.

George Meyer has been elected to these positions: governing committee for the American Bar Association forum on the construction industry; a fellow of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers; director of circuit representatives for the real property, probate and trust law section of the Florida Bar; and a second term as president of the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Tampa Bay. He also has been appointed by the Florida Bar to the committee for construction law certification. Meyer is a shareholder and concentrates in the areas of construction, real property and commercial loan transactions for the law firm of Carlton Fields, Tampa.

Wayne Lee Thomas has been appointed chairman of the Florida Bar's Standing Committee on the Unlicensed Practice Law for 2004-05. Thomas has a private practice in Tampa.

Gulfcoast Legal Services, St. Petersburg, has elected these officers to its board of directors for 2004-05: Barry M. Salzman, president; Evelyn L. Moya, vice president; Dick Wyke, treasurer; and Eileen O'Sullivan, secretary. Salzman is a lawyer in private practice, St. Petersburg; Moya is a lawyer in private practice, Sarasota; Wyke is a retired accountant, Bradenton; and Sullivan is a community activist, St. Petersburg.


STAR Technology Enterprise Center, Largo, announced its advisory and executive board members. Advisory board committee chairmen are Suzie Boland, chairwoman; Edmund O'Carroll, treasurer; Teresa Brydon, chairwoman, fundraising committee; Tate Garrett, chairman, vetting committee; and Jack Rybicki, chairman, programs committee. Board members are Ronald D. Barton, Bob Buckhorn, Jim Failor, Glenn R. Fons, Dr. Michael Fountain, Nancy Howe, Irene Hurst, Robin Kovaleski, Dr. Joseph McCann, Mike Miedel, Kevin Mussmacher, Tom O'Neal, Len Russek, Paul Sacco, William H. Stover Jr., Michael Sullivan and Jim Voytko. Executive board members are Charles E. Rainey, William M. Castoro, Brian Manty, State Rep. Don Sullivan and Martin A. Traber. Boland is president of RFB Communications Group, Tampa; O'Carroll is senior vice president of the Bank of St. Petersburg, Tampa; Brydon is manager of economic development for the city of St. Petersburg; Garrett is senior vice president of Advantage Capital Partners, Tampa; Rybicki is a partner with Chastang, Ferrell, Sims & Eiserman LLC, Tampa; Barton is director of economic development and property mangement for the city of St. Petersburg; Buckhorn is a principal with Dewey Square Group, Tampa; Failor is president of CTC Tampa Bay Inc., Largo; Fons is plant manager for Oleco Inc., Tampa; Fountain is director of the center for entrepreneurship at the University of South Florida, Tampa; Howe is publisher of the Maddux Business Report, St. Petersburg; Hurst is executive director of the Small Business Development Center at the University of South Florida, Tampa; Kovaleski is executive director of Florida Venture Forum, Tampa; McCann is dean of the Sykes College of Business at the University of Tampa; Miedel is economic development director for Pinellas County, Clearwater; Mussmacher is president of STAR Center Partners for Progress Pace Technology Inc., Largo; O'Neal is director of the University of Central Florida Technology Incubator, Orlando; Russek is vice president of the M&A division for Murphy Business and Financial Services Inc., Dunedin; Sacco is an administrator for Young-Rainey STAR Center, Largo; Stover is chief executive of DataGlyphics, St. Petersburg; Sullivan is director of entrepreneurship/medical device cluster initiative for St. Petersburg College; Voytko is a retired consultant, Clearwater; Rainey is chairman and executive committee president of the Community Reuse Organization board of directors, Largo; Castoro is chairman of the Community Reuse Organization, Largo; Manty is vice president of technology for MB Technology Services, Largo; Sullivan is vice president of economic development and innovative projects for St. Petersburg College; and Traber is a partner at the law firm of Foley & Lardner, Tampa.


Raymond Schilling has been elected to the board of directors of Global Imaging Systems Inc., Tampa. Schilling is Global Imaging's senior vice president and chief financial officer.