1. Archive

Bucs make it three straight

Published Aug. 24, 2005

Gulf won three of their four championship matches Saturday at Ridgewood, overcoming a 30-point deficit, en route to its third consecutive Sunshine Athletic Conference title. The late rally put them past Pasco, 227.0-213.5.

"I think God was bombarded with a lot of prayers," Buccaneer coach Travis DeWalt said. "This is a unique group. At times this unique group has tried my patience, but to get to this pinnacle, it's worth it."

Gulf had victories from Mike Calafiore (103), Danny Montanez (130), and John Eden (160).

Pasco had only two of their five finalists come out on top. Hutch McBath (135), who pinned all of his opponents in the first period, and John Clarke (171) were victorious for the Pirates.

Justin Gardner (119) and Marvin Johnson (145) won titles for third-place Zephyrhills, which had seven in the finals.

Scott Mays (215) won his third consecutive title for fourth-place Land O'Lakes. It was his fourth consecutive All-SAC selection, a first in Gators history. Bobby Castillo (140) and Josh Kweller (152) also won for the Gators.

Rounding out the champions were Ridgewood's Shane Higgins (112), Hudson's Lance Barabas (125) and Ridgewood's Kevin Galason (189) and Pat Kelly (275).