1. Archive

QB greats among 15 finalists for Hall

Dan Marino and Steve Young are two of the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Tuesday. Marino, who holds many NFL career passing records, and Young, who led San Francisco to the 1995 Super Bowl title, are among four finalists who made the list in their first year of eligibility. The others are Michael Irvin, a member of the Dallas teams that won three Super Bowls, and Derrick Thomas, the Kansas City linebacker who died in 2000 after a car accident. Other finalists include defensive end Richard Dent, the MVP of the Bears' Super Bowl victory, L.C. Greenwood, a member of the Steelers' "Steel Curtain" defense, and teammates on the Redskins' three Super Bowl title teams, offensive lineman Russ Grimm and receiver Art Monk.

_ Details, 8C


HOW ABOUT CUBIC ZIRCONIUM FOR WINNING AN ARENA BOWL? Electronic Arts, creators of the popular Madden series of NFL video games, will create a game for the Arena Football League. Borrowing from technology used in other EA products, the game will be ready for the opening of the 2006 season. "We are starting from a technology base we've developed for our football games," said Todd Siprin, vice president of marketing for EA Tiburon, which will develop the game. "But the game will be different from existing games just as the AFL has a different style. We want to capture the offensive explosions found in the AFL."

_ Judge rules Storm lineman can't travel with team, 8C


New Yankees pitcher Randy Johnson will be 42 by the end of the 2005 season and 44 when his contract expires. What five pitchers have won at least 15 games after turning 42?

Answer below.


"I hope he gets traded to a contender. He doesn't need to be rebuilding and coming off the bench for guys he's better than."

_ CHRIS WEBBER, Sacramento forward on ex-Michigan (and Fab Five teammate) Jalen Rose, who plays for the 13-22 Raptors


MORE RETRO: ESPN Classic airs the second of its "Turn Back the Clock" men's basketball games at 8 tonight when Tulane takes on TCU. The broadcast will look like 1979, when ESPN began airing games.


Phil Niekro (three times), Jack Quinn (twice) Nolan Ryan, Warren Spahn and Cy Young.