Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Sheriff honors four deputies who saved lives

Sheriff's Cpl. Pam Fioranelli reached into a jail cell and grabbed the dangling inmate to take the weight from his neck. He had been hanging there from the bed sheet, red-faced and gasping for air.

Fioranelli was one of four Pasco County deputies given lifesaving awards Wednesday for thwarting suicide attempts last year.

The honors were among dozens handed out by Sheriff Bob White during his agency's quarterly awards ceremony.

White enjoyed an honor of his own as Florida Attorney General Charlie Crist swore him in for his second term as sheriff. Crist told the audience at Pasco-Hernando Community College that it was his first time swearing in a sheriff.

Deputy Robert Mocsary received another award in the rescue of an inmate who tried to take his own life with a bedsheet.

Deputy Joseph Liddick received an award for saving a man threatening suicide with a handgun. The man, who was drunk, had threatened to kill either himself or force deputies to shoot him. Liddick managed to calm him.

Detective Jason Sarne found a woman bleeding from both arms along the road. Sarne performed first aid on her self-inflicted wounds and got her to a hospital.

Bailiff Cpl. Frank Inverso earned a lifesaving award for performing CPR on an inmate who collapsed on a courtroom floor.

Several deputies also received meritorious service awards.

Deputy Jessica Hammond earned one for preparing a Spanish language handout for other deputies. She also devised a four-hour Spanish course.

Deputy Kip Mello earned one for helping oversee the GPS monitoring program, which keeps tab on inmates released from the jail. He also helped detectives solve a theft case.

Field training Officer Harmen Campbell earned a meritorious service award for courage in the rescue of an 85-year-old woman who drove her car into a water retention pond. As her Oldsmobile sank, Campbell jumped in and pulled her to safety.

Sheriff's employees also received Employee Incentive Awards: Nicole Campbell, John Catalano, Willis Gay, Cpl. Michael R. Linderman, Linda Hypes, Patricia Hawk, Cpl. James Rollston, Diana McCarty, Detective Janet Raybuck, Cpl. William Rooks, Len Speer, Joan Evans and Theodora Scharber.

Deputies Charles Keppel, Jason Christy, Robert Rogers and Kenneth Petrillo also received incentive awards.