1. Archive


The Arts Center has released the winners of the Word and Image Elementary School exhibition for schools begining with N-Z. (Gulfport is included because it missed out the first time around.) The theme this year was "Class Menagerie," which incorporated a written narrative of pets in the lives of children. The juried exhibit is sponsored by the Hough Family Foundation. Winning entries will be on display at the Arts Center, 719 Central Ave., St. Petersburg, in the Risser Gallery, through March 26. Winners were:

Honorable mentions:

Caroline Ramsburg, Tyrone Elementary.

Robert Clayton, McMullen-Booth Elementary.

Tina Thach, Westgate Elementary.

Israel Craft, Gulfport Elementary.

Sanya Cabo, Rawlings Elementary.

Victor Noriega, Pinellas Park Elementary.

Kaylee Polk, John M. Sexton Elementary.

Antwan Hall, Perkins Elementary.

Maria Hernandez, Lealman Avenue Elementary.

Nicholas Volpe, Seminole Elementary.

Samantha Sharpe, Safety Harbor Elementary.

Top awards:

Hannah Hodges, Oldsmar Elementary.

Ashley Towery, Tyrone Elementary.

Shannon Conley, Perkins Elementary.

The Pinellas County Art Educators Association Young Artist Award went to Anthony Ferguson, 74th Street Elementary.




About 350 students from 18 middle schools and six high schools participated in the Pinellas Regional Science and Engineering Fair at Seminole Middle School on Feb. 4. Plaques were presented to first-, second- and third-place finishers, and ribbons were presented to fourth-place finishers at a ceremony Feb. 9 at Osceola High School.

The following students or teams won first-place awards, or the highest award given this year in a particular category (project titles are listed for individual students proceeding to state or international science fairs):

+ Behavioral and Social: Erin Cambier

+, St. Paul's School, "The Effect of Diet Composition on Learning and Memory."

+ Botany: Kelly Reed

+, Indian Rocks Christian School, "Do Plants Grow Better in Soil or by the Hydroponic Method?"; Hung Le

+, Lakewood High School, "A Novel Hydroponics System."

+ Chemistry: Storm Ritter



+, Espiritu Santo Catholic School, "A Claim to Flame: Fire Resistant Sleepwear"; Sarah Nam



+, St. Petersburg High School, "Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Polynuclear Manganese Complex Functioning as a Single-Molecule Magnet."

+ Computers: Emil Karaali (second place), St. Paul's School; Michael Goldfarb (second place), Lakewood High School.

+ Earth and Space: Sarah Gardiner, Southside Fundamental; Han Zhu

+, St. Petersburg High School, "Thermodynamics of Calcium Silicate Hydrates."

+ Engineering: Erik Schroeder

+, Largo Middle School, "Insulation Station"; Lucas Coffin



+, Canterbury School of Florida, "Computerizing Psychrometrics."

+ Environmental: Mary Lauren Guidi, St. Cecelia Interparochial School; Steven Alvarado, Lakewood High School.

+ Medicine and Health: Michael Durig

+, Southside Fundamental, "Can Siberian Ginseng Affect Your Blood Pressure?"; Emily Boyer, Indian Rocks Christian School.

+ Microbiology: Tyler Parks

+, Lakewood High School, "The Effect of Citrus Peel Extract on Bacterial Growth."

+ Physics: Isaac Sheets

+, Meadowlawn Middle School, "Magnetohydrodynamic Drive"; Andrew Nerney, Lakewood High School.

+ Teams: Yesha Amin, Largo Middle School; Chelsea Barbour, Largo Middle School; Mark Tas, Carwise Middle School; Samantha Robinson, Carwise Middle School; Nicholas Azadian



+, Lakewood High School; Michael Flegiel



+, Lakewood High School; Mario Simoes



+, Lakewood High School; Nehal Gheewala

+, Lakewood High School; Navin Singh

+, Lakewood High School; Kiet Tran

+, Lakewood High School.

+ Zoology: Matthew Murphy

+, St. Paul's School, "The Effect of Oceanic Warming and Cooling Trends on Coral's Response to This Stimuli Through Bleaching"; Kiet Ngo

+, Lakewood High School, "What Is the Effect of Caffeine on the Development and Growth of Drosophila Hydei Sturtevant Larvae?"

The Best of Fair awards went to: Storm Ritter, Espiritu Santo Catholic School; Sarah Nam, St. Petersburg High School; Lucas Coffin, Canterbury School of Florida; and Nicholas Azadian, Michael Flegiel and Mario Simoes, all of Lakewood High School.

Three other students, who placed second, will also advance to the state science fair. They are: Bryce Boyer, Indian Rocks Christian School, behavioral and social; Christine Sinicrope, St. Paul's School, chemistry; and Christopher Gardiner, Southside Fundamental, physics.

+ denotes students who will advance to the state science fair April 19-21 at the Orlando Convention Center.


+ denotes students who will advance to the international science fair in May in Indianapolis.




Several Pinellas County students have been awarded scholarships from the Q Motorsports Family Student Racer Scholarship Program. The students, who were judged on academics, sanctioned motorsports participation and community service, include:

Courtney Andries, 19, Pinellas Park, a 2003 honors graduate of Pinellas Park High and criminology major at the University of South Florida, $1,500 Sunshine Speedway Scholarship; Nick Andries, 13, Pinellas Park, student at Morgan Fitzgerald Middle School, $750 Sunshine Speedway Scholarship Award; Dustin Chisholm, 18, Seminole, 2005 Seminole High School graduate and freshman at St. Petersburg College, $1,000 Sunshine Speedway Scholarship Award; Chase Diamond, 13, Seminole, student at Seminole Middle School, $250 Tri-City Kart Club Scholarship Award; Allison Erlenbusch, 17, St. Petersburg, student at Dixie Hollins High School, $750 Mrs. Eleanor Morse Scholarship Award; Camryn Fredrickson, 7, Palm Harbor, student at Curlew Creek Elementary School, $250 Barry and Sheri Fletcher Scholarship Award; Max Kimer, 8, St. Petersburg, student at Ridgecrest Elementary School, $250 Jill Marie Honorary Scholarship Award; Dale Shelton, 16, St. Petersburg, student at Lakewood High School, $1,000 Dave Pletcher Racing, Racing Helping Racers/Wild Bill Revard Memorial Scholarship Award; and Chris Zimmerman, 13, Largo, student at Osceola Middle School, $500 Racers Helping Racers/Wild Bill Revard Memorial Scholarship Award.