Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


Kip Pyle has been promoted to director of broadcast services at FKQ Advertising, Clearwater. Pyle was senior broadcast producer.

Schifinio Lee Advertising & Public Relations, Tampa, has named Max Blevins and Jennifer Ruyle co-creative directors. Blevins was senior art director at Lykes Brothers Corp., Tampa; and Ruyle was a senior copy writer at J. Walter Thompson, Chicago.


The Florida Orchestra has named its officers and committee chair members for 2007-2008 season. Officers are Bill Haueisen, vice chairman and chairman elect; Dr. Susie Betzer, secretary; and David Ness, treasurer. Committee chair members are Jim Gillespie, executive committee chairman; Bill Haueisen, board effectiveness chairman; David Ness, finance committee chairman; Richard Park, audit committee chairman; Dr. Susie Betzer, revenue development committee chairwoman; Bill Starkey, operations committee chairman; Vicki Fox, endowment committee chairwoman; Johnathan Butler, endowment investment committee chairman; J.B. Starkey, artistic support task force chairman; Charlie Rutz, audience development task force chairman; David Banker, education and outreach task force chairman; and Barb Izzi, community support task force chairwoman; The ad hoc committee consists of Greg Yadley, strategic plan task force chairman and chairman of the president/chief executive officer search committee; Bill Haueisen, metrics study group chairman. Haueisen is chairman at Sterling Research Group, St. Petersburg; Betzer is a physician in private practice, St. Petersburg; Ness is president of Raymond James Trust Cos., St. Petersburg; Gillespie is executive director of the St. Petersburg Automobile Dealers Association; Park is vice president and senior trust administrative officer at Northern Trust Bank of Florida, Tampa; Bill Starkey is a retired businessman, Tampa; Fox is an arts patron, St. Petersburg; Butler is vice president/trust specialist at Regions Morgan Keegan Trust, Tampa; J.B. Starkey is operator of the eco-ranch tour business J.B. Starkey's Flatwoods Adventures, Odessa; Rutz is a retired businessman, Clearwater; Banker is a shareholder at Bush Ross PA, Tampa; Izzi is a sales representative at WCI Communities/West Shore Yacht Club, Tampa; and Yadley is senior partner at Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick LLP, Tampa.


Mike Moran has been named vice president and market manager for the Tampa Bay region at BankUnited Financial Corp., Clearwater. Moran was a financial specialist leader at Wachovia Bank, Sarasota.

SunTrust Banks Inc., Tampa, announces these promotions: Anthony Calabro, vice president in the real estate finance group; Michael Dehney, vice president in the commercial line of business; and Tim Hartle, vice president in the wealth and investment line of business. Calabro was assistant vice president; Dehney was a commercial banker; and Hartle is an investment consultant.


Lee Cook has been named senior director at Sterling Management Resources Inc., Tampa. Cook was a partner at Control Solutions International, Nashua, N.H.


Steven D. Taylor has been named director of large group sales for Central Florida at Humana Inc., Tampa. Taylor was director of sales at Excellus BlueCross BlueShield in Syracuse, N.Y.


The following law firms had lawyers named to Florida Trend's Florida Legal Elite for 2007.

Carlton Fields, Tampa: Gary L. Sasso, president and CEO; and Mark A. Brown, David P. Burke, Chris S. Coutroulis, Nathaniel L. Doliner, Robert S. Freedman, Joseph H. Lang, Edgel C. Lester, John P. McAdams, Kevin J. Napper, Michael F. Nuechterlein, Edward J. Page, Luis Prats, Hardy L. Roberts, Thomas J. Roehn, Sylvia H. Walbolt, W. Cary Wright and Gwynne A. Young, shareholders. Sasso was recognized as one of the top managing partners.

Carlton Fields, St. Petersburg: Steven C. Dupre, shareholder.

Fowler White Boggs Banker, Tampa: Rhea Law, president and CEO; Hala A. Sandridge, Peter B. King, Burton W. Wiand, James J. Evangelista, Edward M. Waller Jr., Heather B. Brock, John W. Robinson IV, Mitchell I. Horowitz, E. Jackson Boggs, shareholders; and Julie Simone Sneed, associate. Law was recognized as one of the top managing partners.

Gaylord Merlin Ludovici Diaz & Bain, Tampa: S. Cary Gaylord, managing partner; Lorena Hart-Ludovici, Andrew Diaz, Kimbel L. Merlin and Paul Bain, partners.

Phelps Dunbar, Tampa: Harvey S. Kauget, Dennis M. McClelland, John D. Mullen and John E. Phillips Jr., partners; and Bret M. Feldman, associate. Williams Schifino Mangione & Steady PA, Tampa: William J. Schifino Jr. and V. Stephen Cohen, shareholders.


Nancy Benson has been named director of accounting at Gulfside Regional Hospice, New Port Richey. Benson was an accountant at the Children's Home in Tampa.


Andrew DeLozier has been named a photographer at Inc., Spring Hill. DeLozier was photographer at Bob Knight Photography, Tallahassee.