1. Archive


Published Feb. 11, 2008

For the fourth straight season, Springstead's district domination loomed over the mat.

The Eagles easily defeated runnerup Dunedin and walked away with their fourth straight district crown.

Springstead (237 points) qualified 13 of its 14 wrestlers for the regional round next weekend and had 10 reach the district finals. Nine won their matches for individual titles.

Among the champions were repeat winners Schuyler Swanton (112 pounds), Skylar Huff (119), C.J. Cook (125) and Cesar Acosta (189). New champions were Dustin Soto (103), Steven Bliss (130), Thad Klenovich (152), Scott Wern (171) and Carlos Ramirez (285).

Wern was in the match of the tournament with Dunedin's Danny Miller in the finals. Wern and Miller went back and forth in the three periods and were knotted at seven with time running out. With one second remaining, Wern gained an advantage for the two-point win.

Dunedin (165 points) couldn't match up with the Eagles' lineup. Still, the Falcons had two individual champs out of the seven wrestlers who reached the finals and advanced 11 to the region tournament.

"I am pleased with our finish," Dunedin coach Marc Allison said. "We might not have wrestled as well as we could have, but even if we did, I am not sure we could have beaten Springstead."

Jonte Graham (145) earned a pin in his finale, and Antonio Talley (160) picked up a major decision for his individual title.