Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


For the fourth consecutive season, Springstead's domination in the district loomed over the mat.

The Eagles easily defeated runnerup Dunedin and walked away with their fourth straight district crown and 22nd overall.

Springstead (237 points) qualified 13 of its 14 wrestlers for the regional round next weekend and had 10 reach the district finals. Nine won their matches for individual titles.

Among the champions were repeat winners Schuyler Swanton (112 pounds), Skylar Huff (119), C.J. Cook (125) and Cesar Acosta (189). New champions were Dustin Soto (103), Steven Bliss (130), Thad Klenovich (152), Scott Wern (171) and Carlos Ramirez (285).

"This was great, but we can't be overconfident," said Swanton, a defending state champion. "We're really starting to come together, and you can feel a real chemistry with all of us."

Wern was in the match of the tournament with Dunedin's Danny Miller in the finals. Wern and Miller went back and forth in the three periods and were knotted at seven with time running out. With one second remaining, Wern gained an advantage for the two-point win.

Dunedin (165 points) couldn't match up with the Eagles' lineup. Still, the Falcons had two individual champs out of the seven wrestlers who reached the finals. The program advanced 11 to the region tournament.

"I am pleased with our finish," Dunedin coach Marc Allison said. "We might not have wrestled as well as we could have, but even if we did, I am not sure we could have beaten Springstead."

Jonte Graham (145) earned a pin in his finale, and Antonio Talley (160) picked up a major decision for his individual title.

Other champs were Ridgewood's Allyn Williamson (135), River Ridge's Sean Hitchcock (140) and Central's Nathan Brazeau (215).