1. Archive


Eckerd College

4200 54th Ave. S

St. Petersburg, 864-7979

Jamsheed Marker, Diplomat-in-Residence at Eckerd College, will speak on U.S. Foreign Policy and al-Qaida at 7:30 p.m. today at Miller Auditorium. Marker is Pakistan's former ambassador to the United Nations and 10 countries, including the United States in 1986. He worked with the U.S. government during negotiations over the Soviet military withdrawal from Afghanistan. Part of the International Relations Lecture Series, "21st Century Challenges to National Identity and Security."

St. Petersburg College

6605 Fifth Ave. N

St. Petersburg

Istvan Ruppert, professor of organ at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, will perform on the Heissler organ at 7:30 p.m. Friday at the Music Center. Ruppert was director of music at Szechenyi University in Gyor, Hungary, and is a Liszt scholar. For information, call 341-4301.

Free writing workshops are held at 1 p.m. Saturdays at the West Community Library at SPC. For information, call 381-1030.

University of South Florida St. Petersburg

140 Seventh Ave. S

St. Petersburg, 873-4456

C-SPAN's Campaign 2008 Bus will be parked at USF St. Petersburg and open to the public from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Thursday along Second Street S, south of Sixth Avenue S. The bus is a mobile production studio touring state capitols and traveling to major political events such as the Democratic and Republican national conventions and the presidential debates.

Mary M. Atwater, professor of science education at the University of Georgia, will present Visioning the Participation of All Students in Society: What Can School Personnel, Parents, Students and the Community Do? at 5 p.m. Thursday at Davis Hall, Room 130. Atwater's research is on the social, cultural and political factors that influence science teaching and learning. She has received several awards, including the Association for Multicultural Education's Legendary Award, the 1999 African-American Phenomenal Women award and the National Technical Association's 1998 Academy of Top Minority Women in Science and Engineering award.