1. Archive


The Pinellas School District is accepting applications for its Outstanding Educators Recognition Program. All school-based employees are eligible, including classroom teachers, resource teachers, media specialists and counselors.

Nominations can come from teachers, parents, students and community members. Nomination packets, available at, must be submitted to the administration building at 301 Fourth St. SW, Largo, by 4:30 p.m. Oct. 5.

Pinellas' 2010 Outstanding Educator and runners-up will be announced at a celebration in January.

* * *

28 in county named 2009 Five Star Schools

The Florida Department of Education has named 28 Pinellas schools 2009 Five Star School Award recipients for exemplary work in family and community involvement:

Bauder, Bay Point, Belcher, Blanton, Curtis Fundamental, Dunedin, Garrison-Jones, Leila Davis, Rawlings, McMullen-Booth, North Shore, Oldsmar, Orange Grove, San Jose, Starkey, Sunset Hills, Sutherland, Tarpon Springs and Tarpon Springs Fundamental elementary schools; Carwise, Dunedin Highland, Madeira Beach Fundamental, Palm Harbor, Seminole and Tarpon Springs middle schools; and Clearwater, Palm Harbor University and Seminole high schools achieved 100 percent of the established criteria in several categories, including business partnerships and volunteerism.

* * *

Voluntary pre-K offered at selected schools

A blended voluntary prekindergarten program for general education and special education students is being offered at selected school sites for 3- and 4-year-olds.

Program registration is free for children who enroll at a Title 1 school and meet the criteria for free or reduced-price lunch. Title 1 schools are Dunedin, Tarpon Springs, Sandy Lane, Mildred Helms, Walsingham, Bardmoor, Starkey, Lynch, Sawgrass Lake, Skyview, Seventy-Fourth Street, Azalea, Bear Creek, Gulfport, Rawlings, Campbell Park, Lakewood, Maximo, Perkins and Shore Acres elementaries.

A fee of $75 per week will be charged for students who choose to attend Bauder, Garrison-Jones, Leila Davis, McMullen-Booth, Perkins and Plumb elementary schools.

To enroll, visit any of the school sites. Visit or call (727) 588-6023 for a list of documentation needed for registration.