Advertisement
  1. Archive

UNSUNG HEROES

THE UMPIRES: After a series of postseason flubs, they got one right. Cliff Lee allowed only one leadoff batter to reach, Hideki Matsui's single in the fifth. Robinson Cano followed with a looper to Jimmy Rollins. It appeared the Phillies' shortstop wanted to let the ball drop in order to get a double play. Instead, the ball fell into his glove a few inches off the dirt. Despite second-base umpire Brian Gorman signaling an out, Rollins touched second and threw to Ryan Howard at first. First-base umpire Jeff Nelson signaled Howard was off the base as Cano crossed. With Matsui still off the bag, Howard ran over and tagged him, but there still was no signal for the second out. But the umpires met and ruled it as it should have been: a double play.

* * *

Goat

PHIL HUGHES: The Yankees reliever had his second straight shaky outing. In Game 5 of the ALCS, he allowed a walk and two run-scoring singles as the Angels rallied. Wednesday, with the Yankees down 2-0, he opened the eighth with two walks. Two pitching changes later, both scored on Raul Ibanez's single.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement