1. Archive


Kailand Cosgrove of Tarpon Springs outdistanced most of the almost 1,000 triathletes competing in Sunday's fifth annual Morton Plant Mease Triathlon, to finish fourth in the women's elite division.

Cosgrove, 20, opened the triathlon with a strong first leg (1/3-mile swim), exiting the Gulf of Mexico in 10:40. Cosgrove completed the 13-mile bike leg in 36:20 and the 3.1-mile run in 25:20. Cosgrove's final time was 1:16:25, just nine seconds behind third place. She earned $200 for finishing in the top five.

Elise Schillmoller, 34 of Miami was the women's elite champion with a winning time of 1:12:17.

Kerry Sullivan of Port Charlotte was the overall race winner in a time of 1:01:43. Sullivan, 28, took the lead from the first leg and held the advantage throughout to win $900 for first place in the elite male division.

Jason Trieloff of Clearwater was the top local male finisher in the elite division, placing 20th in his group (1:21:16). Largo's Ed Porter was right behind in 21st place (1:31:56).

Two local triathletes captured USAT Florida Region Junior Championships. Shane Deeley, 17, of Clearwater was the male elite junior winner in 1:04:10, and Savannah Dearden, 17, of St. Petersburg captured the female title in 1:14:27. Deeley and Dearden qualified for the 2010 International Triathlon Union Sprint Distance World Championship.

The following local triathletes finished at the top of their age groups: (M1-14) Caleb Hudak, Seminole, 1:13:26; (M15-19) Deeley; (M25-29) Chad Siple, Clearwater, 1:09:53; (M45-49) John Macedo, Clearwater, 1:07:19; (M50-54) David Frazer, St. Petersburg, 1:11:39; (M55-59) Ron Murawsky, Clearwater, 1:13:09; (M70-74) Donald Ardell, St. Petersburg, 1:20:33; (M75-79) Richard Pease, Tarpon Springs, 2:10:55; (M80-84) Larry Yost, Treasure Island, 1:54:40; (Clydesdale 40-99) John Cornish, Palm Harbor, 1:18:27; (male Skip Cline member) Robert Adikes, Largo, 1:25:40; (F15-19) Dearden; (F20-24) Lindsey Pikos, Tarpon Springs, 1:21:04; (F45-49) Louise Donato, Clearwater, 1:21:25; (F55-59) Clare Kelley, St. Petersburg, 1:29:07; (F65-69) Sandy Guenzel, Largo, 1:41:49; (F70-74) Annette Frisch, St. Petersburg, 1:44:07; (F75-79) Katie Knight Perry, St. Petersburg, 3:06:39; (F80-84) Jackie Yost, Treasure Island, 2:52:41; (Athena 1-39) Lisa Abraham-Charest, St. Petersburg, 1:24:29; (Female first timer) Corrie Brockman, Clearwater, 1:30:20.

ST. PETE BEACH SUMMER 5K: Clearwater resident Keith Sawayda, 47, was the overall winner at the first race in this year's St. Pete Beach Summer 5K Series.

Sawayda ran Friday's race in 17:33 to edge Tampa's Joe Torzok (17:36) by three seconds. Trey Howell, 30 of St. Petersburg, placed third (17:49). Howell was the top runner in the male 30-34 age division.

Amy McClenathan, 50 of St. Petersburg, won the women's competition by nearly a minute (20:46). Virginia Edmonds, 43 of St. Petersburg, was also a top finisher, placing third overall and first in the female 40-44 division (22:59).

Age group winners from Pinellas County included: (M15-19) Stephen Sawayda, Clearwater, 18:07; (F15-19) Tess Huttenlocker, Gulfport, 25:58; (M25-29) Steve Schilling, St. Pete Beach, 17:51; (F25-29) Meredith Jones, St. Petersburg, 27:13; (M35-39) Kevin Kennedy, North Redington Beach, 20:27; (M50-54) Alastair Baillie, St. Petersburg, 20:20; (F50-54) Deb Robinson, St. Petersburg, 26:10; (M55-59) Jerry Fowle, St. Pete Beach, 23:39; (F55-59) Vicki Linkovich, St. Petersburg, 28:42; (M60-64) Jack Eads, St. Petersburg, 23:37; (F60-64) Bess Kennedy, Seminole, 48:41; (F65-69) Ginger Herring, St. Petersburg, 36:10; (M70-74) Joe Burgasser, St. Petersburg, 21:36; (M75 and over) Larry Yost, Treasure Island, 30:51; (F75 and over) Jackie Yost, Treasure Island, 54:14.

WIERINGA WINS AGAIN: Albert Wieringa continues to dominate his age division in local competitions. Wieringa was first in the male 60-64 age group at the Steinbrenner Warrior 5K in Lutz on Saturday. His winning time was 19:39.