1. Archive


Published Jul. 5, 2010

Six Pasco-Hernando Community College students were honored recently at the college's Annual Distinguished Alumni and Student Awards Ceremony at the New Port Richey campus. In addition to former Secretary of State Kurt Browning's selection as the 2010 Distinguished Alumnus, PHCC clubs, organizations and student leaders were honored for their leadership and community service efforts. Six PHCC students were recognized with the Dr. Felisha R. Barker Outstanding Student Leader awards. Jessica Norris, 20, of Zephyrhills, graduated with a 3.95 GPA, receiving an associate of arts degree. She served as president of Phi Theta Kappa honor society and was selected to the PTK All-Florida Academic Team. Joan Nobile, 25, of Port Richey, is a member of the True Anime and Gaming Club and created manuals for officers and videos for members. She helped the group grow to become the largest club on the west campus in New Port Richey. Robert Keene, 20, of Spring Hill, graduated with a 4.0 GPA, receiving an associate of arts degree. He was a member of PTK and was selected to the 2010 All-Florida Academic Team. He provided encouragement and tutoring for other students in the Teaching Learning Center on the north campus in Brooksville. Rachel Manyo, 24, of Zephyrhills, served as secretary, vice president and president of the Student Government Association and as president of the drama club. She also represented PHCC on the parliamentary procedure team at the Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference. James Aristilde, 19, of Spring Hill, has a 3.73 GPA and served as a PHCC student ambassador. He is a member of PTK and Psi Beta honor societies. He was a founder of the Men of Excellence student organization on the north campus in Brooksville. Caitlin Nagy, 20, of New Port Richey, has a 3.5 GPA. She is a member of both PTK and Psi Beta and is involved in many other clubs and student activities on campus. Taking part in the ceremony were, from left, PHCC president Katherine Johnson; students selected for honors, Nagy, Nobile, Keene, Aristilde, Manyo and Norris; Joyce Barker and Tim Beard, PHCC vice president of student development and enrollment management. The award is named for Felisha Barker, an advisor and former PHCC student, who received the Outstanding Leader Award and died in 2005. Joyce Barker, Felisha Barker's mother, attended the ceremony to help present the student leader awards.

* * *

High fives

The fourth annual Catch and Release Fishing Tournament to benefit Pasco-Hernando Community College Foundation Inc. was held on April 23 at Catches in Port Richey. Prizes were awarded for first, second and third place in combined total inches, first place for the largest in length in each of three species categories, and a master angler award for the largest cobia.

Winners in the combined total inches category were Chris Carlson, All State Steel, first place with 60.5 total inches; George Loop, Campo Engineering, second place with 50 total inches; and Joe Mastrino, Four Seasons Drywall, third place with 49.5 total inches. Paul Eastman, Four Seasons Drywall, won the award for largest redfish with 27.5 inches; Billy Poe, TECO, won the award for Largest Snook with 31.75 inches; and Ed Blommel, TECO, won the award for Largest Trout with 23.5 inches. The award for master angler for the largest cobia was awarded to Danny Ryan, Harper Limbach Mechanical, with 33 inches.

The presenting sponsor was Skanska USA Building and the host sponsor was Catches Waterfront Grille. Additional sponsors were C.S. McKee LLP; FG Metals; King and Walker CPA; King Engineering Associates Inc.; PHCC District Board of Trustees; PHCC President's Executive Committee; and the Law Offices of Skipper and Skipper P.A.

The Fishing Tournament raised more than $40,000 that will benefit PHCC students, staff and faculty. The PHCC Foundation was established in 1975 to seek private support to enhance the College's educational programs. The Foundation helps support student programs, instructional resources, staff development and facilities for the college.