1. Archive


Times wires

DAYTONA BEACH - Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas won Saturday's Grand-Am series race at Daytona International Speedway, giving team owner Chip Ganassi another victory at the storied track.

Pruett took the lead with one hour left in the Brumos Porsche 250, driving the No.01 BMW Riley. Pruett won by 24.304 seconds over the BMW Riley of Ryan Dalziel and Mike Forest.

It was the 29th series win for Ganassi, who also won NASCAR's Daytona 500 in February.

Andy Lally won his third race of the season in the production-based GT class, co-driving with RJ Valentine in a Porsche GT3.

INDYCAR: Will Power won the pole for today's race at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International to lead a sweep of the top three spots by Team Penske, which extended its series record of consecutive poles to eight.

The pole also was the fifth straight at the Glen for Penske. Power, the series points leader, covered the 11-turn, 3.4-mile course in 1 minute, 29.3164 seconds at 135.832 mph. He was followed by teammates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe.

Defending series champion Dario Franchitti will line up fourth in the Camping World Grand Prix. Danica Patrick, fresh from a one-week stint in NASCAR, struggled and will start 21st of 25. Adam Carroll, an up-and-coming driver from Northern Ireland, will start 10th in his series debut in a fifth entry for Andretti Autosport.