1. Archive


Christa Stephens celebrated Independence Day with another race win, this time at the 31st annual Kiwanis Morton Plant Mease Midnight Run.

Stephens, 26 of Kenneth City, took first in the 10K competition, which started at 12:15 a.m. July 4. Stephen's time of 37:10 was more than six minutes faster than her nearest competition.

Her husband, Lee Stephens, was second in the men's 10K race and first among local runners. Stephens, 30 of St. Petersburg, crossed the finish line in 34:06 to win the 30-34 division.

Mark Parrish, 18 of Tampa, was the overall winner in 33:32.

The following county runners claimed first in their age group: (M13 and under) Cole Orford, Dunedin, 57:23; (M14-15) Tyler Lewis, Largo, 37:17; (M16-17) Shane Deeley, Clearwater, 37:42; (F17-19) Rachel Zeron, Oldsmar, 49:17; (M25-29) Sean Gallagher, Clearwater, 36:51; (F25-29) Heather Kerns, Clearwater, 49:52; (F30-34) Whit Lasseter, Palm Harbor, 50:48; (M35-39) James Duncan, Largo, 40:54; (F35-39) Heather Ellison, Clearwater, 47:14; (F45-49) Jennifer Flory, Clearwater, 47:26; (M50-54) Chris Pedersen, St. Petersburg, 41:39; (F50-54) Carol Bancroft, Safety Harbor, 46:52; (F55-59) Terry Repp, Palm Harbor, 52:28; (F60-64) Dawn Graner, Largo, 55:26; (M65-69) Duncan Cameron, Palm Harbor, 45:56; (F65 and over) Millie Hamilton, Madeira Beach, 59:10.

Melanie Peters, 26 of St. Petersburg, was the top women's runner in the 5K, which had a start time of 11:25 p.m. Saturday. Peters nudged Hudson's Kari Grippo by a second at the finish line to win the women's title in 19:06.

Tarpon Springs' Kailand Cosgrove took third in 19:21.

Tony Nicolosi of Seminole was the second-place finisher on the men's side, running 16:10. Fellow Seminole resident Chase Sutton was third in 16:37.

Mark Parrish completed the double, winning the 5K and 10K competitions. Parrish's 5K winning time was 16:00.

In the 5K, local age group winners were: (M9 and under) Coleman Inglima, Clearwater, 26:17; (F9 and under) Brynlie Burley, Palm Harbor, 35:43; (M10-11) Kade Burley, Palm Harbor, 28:23; (F10-11) Hannah Langevin, Dunedin, 25:39; (M12-13) Hunter McCann, Treasure Island, 18:51; (M14-15) Patryk Korbut, Seminole, 18:21; (M16-17) Sutton; (F16-17) Kim Truong, Largo, 24:37; (M18-19) Buka Harris, St. Petersburg, 16:43; (F18-19) Cosgrove; (M20-24) Nicolosi; (F30-34) Lisa Williams, Largo, 20:48; (M40-44) David Tobiassen, Clearwater, 19:33; (M50-54) Craig Hutchison, St. Petersburg, 21:58; (F50-54) Kathleen Robinson, Pinellas Park, 24:33; (F55-59) Flo Riggie, Safety Harbor, 25:47; (F60-64) Dana Carlson, Safety Harbor, 27:22; (F65-69) Elizabeth Yaggy, Dunedin, 37:43; (M70 and over) Ron Kelley, St. Petersburg, 42:55.

LUTZ INDEPENDENCE DAY RUN: St. Petersburg resident Cameron Wheeler posted the quickest time among local participants at the 25th annual Lutz Independence Day Run on Saturday, a 5K race with 343 total racers.

Wheeler made it to the finish line in 17:10 to earn third overall. Wheeler, 16, was the top runner in the 15-19 age group.

Another 16-year-old, Tampa's Max del Monte, was the overall winner in 16:26.

On the women's side, Ali Crabb of St. Petersburg captured second after crossing the finish line in 17:44. Crabb, 20, won the women's 20-24 division.

The women's champion was New Port Richey's Jacki Wachtel in 17:25.

Other age group winners locally were: (M10-14) Hunter McCann, Treasure Island, 19:05; (F15-19) Savannah Dearden, St. Petersburg, 19:37; (M25-29) Brian Cuff, St. Petersburg, 18:50; (F40-44) Yvette McNiece, St. Petersburg, 23:58; (F55-59) Wendy Burgasser, St. Petersburg, 24:25; (F65-69) Millie Hamilton, Redington Beach, 27:13; (M70-74) Joe Burgasser, St. Petersburg, 20:08.

AJC PEACHTREE ROAD RACE 10K: A number of local runners made the trip to Atlanta on Sunday to take part in the 2010 AJC Peachtree Road Race 10K, which saw 50,044 runners finish.

Scott Winnier, 43 of St. Petersburg, clocked in at 35:15 to place 149th overall. Winnier was the top local finisher.

Other Pinellas racers who crossed the finish line in less than an hour: Albert Wieringa, St. Petersburg, 40:33; Benton Jones Jr., Clearwater, 43:48; Jon Feltham, Clearwater, 48:32; Russel Towell, Palm Harbor, 49:03; Bob Wagoner, Seminole, 49:46; Alex Size, St. Petersburg, 50:47; Joan Stolz, Tarpon Springs, 51:46; Madeline Parhalo, Seminole, 54:46; Brigitte Towell, Palm Harbor, 54:58; Mary Ann Protz, St. Petersburg, 57:18; Scott Stolz, Tarpon Springs, 59:20; Charles McGee, Palm Harbor, 59:24; Clyde Parrish Jr., Tarpon Springs, 59:51; Lowell Bloodworth, Clearwater, 59:53.

TAEKWONDO JUNIOR OLYMPICS: St. Petersburg resident Miles Richardson won a bronze medal at last week's USA Taekwondo 2010 Junior Olympic Championships in Orlando. Richardson, 9, competed in the sparring event in the Fin weight division for 10- to 11-year-olds.

Richardson earned a spot in the Junior Olympics by placing first at a national qualifier.

ST. PETE ROAD RUNNERS: Ted Wagner, President of Music Sweet Music Inc., will be the guest speaker at the St. Pete Road Runners' monthly meeting Thursday.

Wagner runs a not-for-profit organization that provides music therapy sessions and special musical instruments used in therapy for children with illnesses or disabilities.

The meeting, which is open to the public, will be held at 6:30 p.m. at the Hospice of the Florida Suncoast Service Center, located at 3050 First Ave. S.