Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


The Florida Athletic Coaches Association has released its list of girls and boys soccer all-state teams, and the bay area is well represented among all classifications.

Thirty-two bay area girls were all-state picks:

Class 2A: Corrie Bexley (Bishop McLaughlin), Spencer Valdespino (Bishop McLaughlin), Colby Maffei (Tampa Prep), Amber Miller (Tampa Prep), Jackie Rosenthal (Tampa Prep) and Isabel Dalence (Tampa Prep)

Class 3A: Taylor Richardson (Berkeley Prep) and Bryane Heaberlin (Berkeley Prep)

Class 4A: Melissa Morlan (Gulf), Dani Schulman (Gulf), Nicole Esposito (Wiregrass Ranch), Chelsea Foster (Gulf), Brittany Nieves (Land O'Lakes), Berlin Waters (Wiregrass Ranch), Jenny Karl (River Ridge), Carly Keene (Steinbrenner), Cici Gonzalez (Steinbrenner), Miranda Gonzalez (Steinbrenner) and Alexis Bredeau (Steinbrenner)

Class 5A: Alyson Brady (Springstead), Samantha Berberette (Central), Lauren Moore (Gaither), Karina Gutsche (Newsome), Taylor Decaire (Newsome) and Shea Rhoney (Newsome)

Class 6A: Elena Atenza (Alonso), Fallon Vaughan (Wharton), Heather Montgomery (Wharton), Emily Belanger (Wharton), Linzy Rakestraw (Plant), Danielle Leroy (Plant) and Rebecca Rinkevich (Plant)

Fourteen bay area boys were all-state picks:

Class 2A: Jake Peterson (Tampa Prep) and Brian Steel (Tampa Prep)

Class 4A: Kody Parker (Land O'Lakes), Stephen Gathman (Jesuit), Chase Goodwin (Jesuit) and Tyler Hartlage (Jesuit)

Class 6A: Tevin Gage (Bloomingdale), Danny Johnson (Plant), Keaton Burchfield (Wharton), Hunter Maricle (Countryside), Jagger Martinez (Countryside), Nicolai Hammer (Countryside), Andrew Hitt (Countryside) and Brandon Shaneyfelt (Palm Harbor University)

* * *

IRC's Kaufman, Northside's Smith on FHSAA academic team

A quartet of bay area student-athletes is among the 24 members (12 boys, 12 girls) of the Florida High School Athletic Association's Academic All-State team. Academy of the Holy Names' Lindsey Hahn, Alonso's Elizabeth Shields, Indian Rocks Christian's Ryan Kaufman and Northside Christian's Jeremy Smith were among those selected from more than 185 qualified nominees from the FHSAA's 674 member high schools. To be eligible, a student must be a graduating senior, possess a cumulative unweighted GPA of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, and have earned a varsity letter in at least two different sports as a junior and senior. Each honoree receives a $1,000 reward and medallion from the FHSAA.