Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Hillsborough County scholar athletes to be honored

One male and one female student athlete from each of Hillsborough County's 28 public high schools will be recognized at Wednesday night's fourth annual Hillsborough County Scholar-Athlete Banquet.

Each honoree will receive a $500 scholarship.

The event, sponsored by Chick-fil-A and Bright House Sports Network, will be held at Jefferson High School at 7 p.m.

To qualify, students had to score at least 1100 on the SAT and maintain a 3.0 grade-point average. Selection committees at each school chose the honorees.

Here is a complete list of this year's honorees:

Alonso: Joseph Piazza, Sarah Shields

Armwood: Kyle Wilcox. Alyssa Reidy

Blake: Cristian Cintora, Kiana Gadson

Bloomingdale: Michael Reagor, Jessica Sawicki

Brandon: Joshua Peasall, Twakesha Porter

Chamberlain: Gary Buffington, Jacklyn Garibay

Durant: Connor Bass, Grace VanDeGrift

East Bay: Andrea Benedetto, Michael Oggero

Freedom: Dustin Rauh, Lindsay Taggart

Gaither: Jordan See, Nikki Perrini

Hillsborough: Brian Kowalski, Hollie Driscoll

Jefferson: Alain Del Rio, Bene'e Glanton

King: Brandon Sato, Mallory Gassen

Lennard: Brian Phillips, Heather Demalignon

Leto: Ernesto Rodriguez-Romero, Estefania Franco

Middleton: Axljake Abuyen, Valeria Santa Cruz

Newsome: Joe Worth, Lindsay Lesavage

Plant: Brenton D'Adamo, Amber Li

Plant City: Jesper Svensson, Chelsea Hanks

Riverview: Matthew Encinosa, Kayleen Boatwright

Robinson: Nicholas Hursey, Ava Dillman

Sickles: Kyle Rodriguez, Amber Henson

Spoto: Christopher Seabrook, Brianna Thomas

Steinbrenner: Ryon Keith, Natalia Ortiz

Strawberry Crest: Norman Hartman, Shamaria Engram

Tampa Bay Tech: Jaylin Earl, Teneshia Huggins

Wharton: Balraj Matharu, Dianna Mitchell

-- EDUARDO A. ENCINA (; Twitter: @EddieHometeam)