Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


- Moore-Mickens Education Center Principal's 4.0 Honor Roll: Jessica Blackmon, Tiffany Blankenship, Katrina Martin.

- Hudson Elementary Book Battle team members: Jonathan Cunningham, Aimee Derner, Tyler Derner (captain), Alisa Eaton, Jacob Fritz, Kayla Haigle.

- The following Hudson Middle students were named winners of the school-level Tropicana Speech Contest. Grade 6, First: Isabella Aviolla;Second: Cassidy Rux;Third: Mia Testa;Honorable Mention: Patrick Allamilla. Grade 7 and 8, First: Brandi Denham;Second: Lexi Laduke;Third: Joey Caruso;Honorable Mention: Jordan Callahan.

- The following students from Centennial Middle School were named winners in the district level of the Jim Harbin Student Media Festival. Second place Public Service Announcement: Shelbie Timlake and Tabby Peteler forA Victim's Life of Bullying;First Place Book Trailer: Ben Morrison and Emilee Combs for The Hunger Games; First Place Drama: Thad Anderton and Makenzie Lewis forIt Only Takes One. First place winners have moved on to regional level competition.

Students of the Month

- Richey Elementary: Ashley Andersen, Cheyenne Anslow, Chloe Blanton, Benjamin Butler, Haley Collett, Douglas Domke, Nayaliz Figueroa-Hernandez, Carlos Cardoso-Gonzalez, Shawn Lindbom, Mikayla Linzy, Ashley Maye-Zongua, Trinity Sherman, Jamey Spear, Samantha Stroupe, Brandon Tepetate, Azreal Thei, Connor Wilson, Shamain Diaz, Aileen Flores, Michael Fox, Nicholas Haberchak, Robert Magnuson, Carlos Martin-Perez, Christopher Riley, Ariana Ruis, Kalani Ruiz, Jasmine Salgado, Coralee Sawyer, Michael Scherneck and Kaitlynn Zajecka.

Gulf High: Jonathan Tinker, Mikayla Howard, Rinor Fejzullahu, Lauren Lukasik, John Vann, Kassandra Cresoe, Carmelo Calcagno, Ishia Perez.

- Hudson Elementary: Samantha Platt, Coral Schlegel, Avaline Coffey, Devin Renger, Victoria Marjan, Madison Weinhauer, Jenna Montgomery, Alexander Law, Jacob Endicott, Emma Hudgins, Elizabeth Caruthers, Susy Ferrer, Jared Nowak, Cali Davidson, Chloe Weinhauer, Nathaniel Delucco, Adrien Bourdreau, Kaylyn Hansberry, Erick Terrero, Kathrine Porterfield, Kassy Martinez, Benjamin Dierking, Lilly Eskew, Leila Tirone, Andres Pelaytay, Michael Lonno, Hannah Nichols, Tassabeh Yagoub, Kaely Nicastro, Beverly Nuzzi, Austan Burns, Alisa Eaton, Leah Pfenninger, Natalie Santos, Justin Gindling, Kaelin Martin.