Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


The Turnaround Achievement Awards recognized numerous students at a banquet April for their effort, perseverance and commitment toward turning their lives in a more positive direction.

They may have overcome behavior issues, improved academics, adjusted attitude, eliminated substance abuse, dealt with family hardships or any combination of these.

Those honored April 26: Anthony King, Brooksville Elementary, Jax Daniels, Chocachatti Elementary, Aliza Torres, Deltona Elementary, Willie Woods, Eastside Elementary, Dalton Smith, Moton Elementary, William Shawn Patton, Pinegrove Elementary, Cody Wirshels, Spring Hill Elementary, Kayla Morelli, Suncoast Elementary,Chynne Morgan, Westside Elementary, Devin Abraham, Challenger K8, Trevor McCormick, Challenger K8,Michael Rosado, Explorer K8, Kendrick Mobley, Explorer K8,Helianys Vazquez, J.D. Floyd K8,Kiesha Schaub, J.D. Floyd K8, Tyson Garman, D.S. Parrott Middle,Alex Jost, Fox Chapel Middle,Donald Ott, Powell Middle, Liam Vazquez, West Hernando Middle, Justin McMann, Central High School,Brelow Willis, Hernando High,Thomas Kidder, Nature Coast Technical,Leah Ranger, Springstead High,Brandon Descault, Weeki Wachee High,Stacey Jo Steen, STAR Education Center.

The awards were sponsored by the Hernando County Bowling Association, Hernando County Education Foundation and Suncoast Schools Federal Credit Union through Suncoast for Kids Foundation, Spring Hill Lanes and the Brooksville Elks Lodge 2582.