Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

USF football in East Division in new Big East

After months of speculation, the Big East unveiled its divisional splits for its new football lineup in 2013-14, and USF will play in a six-team East Division, along with Central Florida and four other returning members of the conference.

USF, UCF, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville and Rutgers will play in the East, while Temple will play in the West with five new additions: Boise State, San Diego State, Memphis, Houston and SMU. Each team will play all five divisional opponents, along with three from the opposite division -- the Big East will announce home and away opponents next month after the league's athletic directors meet in New York on Dec. 3.

The league also confirmed it will have its first-ever conference championship game next season, with the East and West champions meeting at the home field of one of the teams, as had been long expected.

The Big East had considered using a non-geographic split, so as to highlight the conference's new national footprint, with one Florida school in each division, one Texas school, one from the West Coast and so on. The league will revisit its alignment in 2015, when Navy is scheduled to join the league, along with a 14th member, likely from out west, such as BYU or Air Force.

Posted by Greg Auman at 2:40:06 pm on November 13, 2012