Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Florida coach Will Muschamp a candidate for Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award

Florida head coach Will Muschamp is one of 18 coache named to the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award watch list.

The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

Muschamp, who is in his second season, had led the Gators to a 9-1 overall record overall, 7-1 in the SEC. Overall at Florida, Muschamp is 16-7.

In early December, a finalists' list comprised of five to ten coaches will be announced. The winner will be announced on Jan. 17.

Here is the full watch list:

David Cutcliffe, Duke; Sonny Dykes, Louisiana Tech; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Chip Kelly, Oregon; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Will Muschamp, Florida; Bill O'Brien, Penn State; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley. Oregon State; Nick Saban, Alabama; David Shaw, Stanford; Bill Snyder; Kansas State; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina, Charlie Strong, Louisville; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M;

William "Dabo" Swinney, Clemson.

Posted by Antonya English at 3:38:33 pm on November 16, 2012