1. Archive


Three Tampa Bay Times journalists and the Times staff recently won first-place honors in the distinguished National Headliner competition. won first place in the national contest's category for newspaper affiliated website. The award went to the Times staff.

Leonora LaPeter Anton won first place for feature writing on a variety of subjects for stories that included a never-ending divorce, male veterans who were raped while in the military, the suicide of a source, and the demise of a beloved mineral spring.

Janet K. Keeler won first place for special/feature column on one subject for her Taste section stories on the legendary Mississippi hot tamale, 1,300 dinner menu ideas over five years, and cookbook author Marcella Hazan.

In business news coverage, Ivan Penn won first place for a collection of stories on Duke Energy's nuclear plants. The stories included "Math Guts Nuclear Myth," "Florida builds plant that will actually work" and "Nuke plant: $1.3 billion and counting."

John Pendygraft received third place for special/feature column on one subject for his "Postscript" series about news subjects after they have dropped from the headlines.

Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of the oldest and largest annual contests honoring journalistic excellence.

Several Tampa Bay Times staffers also have been recognized in other prestigious national awards competitions for their work in 2013, including:

John Woodrow Cox, finalist, Ernie Pyle Award for Human Interest Storytelling, Scripps Howard Awards.

Lane DeGregory, finalist, Batten Medal, American Society of News Editors.

Joni James, finalist, Walker Stone Award for Editorial Writing, Scripps Howard Awards.

"The Last Voyage of the Bounty," finalist, Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling, ASNE. The team entry included Lee Glynn, Michael Kruse, Don Morris, Maurice Rivenbark and Alexis Sanchez.

"America's Worst Charities," finalist, Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers, administered by the Nieman Foundation for Journalism. The team entry included Kris Hundley, Connie Humburg, Bill Higgins, Caryn Baird and Chris Davis from the Times; and Kendall Taggart, Mia Zuckerkandel, Cole Goins and Mark Katches from The Center for Investigative Reporting.