Advertisement

Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at tampabay.com/coronavirus. Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

The English Beat's fall tour includes stop at Clearwater's Capitol Theatre

Steve Spears

Friday, October 3, 2014 9:30am

Dave Wakeling is an '80s music god. Easily one of the most prolithic and influential singer/songwriter/guitarists of our decade, he can claim dual honors for fronting both The Beat (better known here in the U.S. as The English Beat) and General Public. That's on top of his solo career AND his side hobby of producing. (Did you know Wakeling produced the soundtrack for John Hughes' 1988 flick She's Having a Baby?)

Wakeling also just concluded a Pledge Music drive to raise funds for a new English Beat album. The latest news is that we'll see the new album in 190 days. While we wait, now's a great time to catch the English Beat in concert. They've announced a full slate of shows for the fall, including a Nov. 9 show at Clearwater's Capitol Theatre.

Tickets go on sale Saturday, Oct. 4 at 10 a.m. Reserved tickets priced at $35 and $25 will be available at the Ruth Eckerd Hall Ticket Office located at 1111 McMullen Booth Road in Clearwater or by calling 727.791.7400.

ENGLISH BEAT 2014 TOUR DATES

Fri 10/03/14 San Luis Obispo, CA - SLO Brew

Thu 10/09/14 Perris, CA - Southern California Fair

Fri 10/17/14 Santa Cruz, CA - Moe's Alley

Sat 10/18/14 Fresno, CA - Fulton 55

Thu 10/23/14 Indianapolis, IN - Radio Radio

Fri 10/24/14 Buffalo, NY - Buffalo Iron Works

Sat 10/25/14 New Hope, PA - New Hope Winery

Sun 10/26/14 Somerville, MA - Johnny D's Restaurant & Music Club

Tue 10/28/14 Somerville, MA - Johnny D's Restaurant & Music Club

Sat 11/01/14 Houston, TX - Scout Bar

Sun 11/02/14 Austin, TX - Red 7

Mon 11/03/14 Dallas, TX - Trees

Wed 11/05/14 Atlanta, GA - The Masquerade

Fri 11/07/14 Fort Lauderdale, FL - Culture Room

Sat 11/08/14 Orlando, FL - Plaza Live Orlando

Sun 11/09/14 Clearwater, FL - Capitol Theatre

Fri 11/14/14 San Francisco, CA - Bimbo's 365 Club

Sat 11/15/14 Petaluma, CA - McNears Mystic Theatre

Fri 11/21/14 Agoura Hills, CA - The Canyon

Sat 11/22/14 Santa Barbara, CA - Soho Restaurant & Music Club

Fri 11/28/14 Solana Beach, CA - Belly Up Tavern

Sat 11/29/14 Solana Beach, CA - Belly Up Tavern

Fri 12/26/14 Hermosa Beach, CA - Saint Rocke

Sat 12/27/14 Big Bear Lake, CA - The Cave

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement