Advertisement

Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at tampabay.com/coronavirus. Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

OBITUARIES

Geraldine "Jerrie" Mock, 88, the Ohio housewife who in 1964 became the first female pilot to fly solo around the world, died of natural causes Tuesday in Quincy, Fla. Her childhood hero had been aviation pioneer Amelia Earhart, who disappeared in the Pacific along with her navigator, Fred Noonan, while trying to make a flight around the globe in 1937.

* * *

Otto Paparazzo, 88, a New England developer who drew national attention in the 1960s and '70s for popularizing a novel concept in American housing at the time - large condominium and clustered-housing projects in often sleepy small towns - died of Parkinson's disease Sept. 23 in Southbury, Conn.

* * *

Martin Perl, 87, a physicist who was credited with unveiling a previously unknown subatomic building block of matter, a discovery for which he shared a Nobel Prize and that broadened the field of physics, died of a heart attack Tuesday in Palo Alto, Calif.

* * *

Ray Lambrecht, 96, a small-town Chevrolet dealer who became far better known for the cars he kept than the ones he sold, died Sept. 22 in Pierce, Neb. He ended up amassing a collection of several decades' worth of Chevy models, more than 500 cars in all. The collection brought $2.8 million at auction last year.

* * *

J. California Cooper, 82, a writer who enjoyed widespread acclaim for her fablelike tales built largely around the imagined lives of African-American women, died Sept. 20 in Seattle. In the introduction to the writer's first collection of stories, A Piece of Mine, Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple, said her work was in the tradition of Langston Hughes and Zora Neale Hurston.

* * *

Sheldon Patinkin, 79, a writer, director and teacher who helped shape the theatrical life of Chicago over half a century, died Sept. 21. While many of his early colleagues left the city to make their names elsewhere - Mike Nichols, Elaine May and Edward Asner among them - he stayed.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement