Finalists announced for 2018 Support Employee of the Year

Courtesy of Pinellas County Schools
Courtesy of Pinellas County Schools
Published Nov. 27, 2017

Five Pinellas County Schools support employees have been selected for the 2017-18 Support Employee of the Year recognition program.

The finalists, one for each of the five categories, were selected from a group of 120 nominees. They are:

Classroom Support: Debra Canning, Transformation Zone schools, 21st Century iClass Liaison

Clerical: Rebecca Jacobs, Sexton Elementary School, Secretary/Bookkeeper

Food Service: Allyson Huettig, McMullen Booth Elementary School, Food Service Manager III

Maintenance/Safety/Health/Transportation: Joseph Camera, Walter Pownall, Bus Driver

Plant Operations: Lloyd Nelson, Ridgecrest Elementary School, Plant Operator

The winner will be announced at a luncheon on Jan. 12 at Feather Sound Country Club and will go on to compete as Pinellas' representative for the Florida School-Related Employee of the Year.

David Melnick, a food service manager at Lake St. George Elementary, was Pinellas' winner in 2017. He also won the state honor of the 2017 School-related Employee of the Year.