One of these 10 teachers will be Pinellas County’s teacher of the year

The winner will be announced Jan. 28.
Pinellas County school district headquarters in Largo. [DIRK SHADD   |   Times]
Pinellas County school district headquarters in Largo. [DIRK SHADD | Times]
Published Nov. 27, 2018

Ten teachers have been named finalists for Pinellas County's teacher of the year award, whose winner will be announced in January.

A panel of judges chose the finalists from a group of 130 nominees. Soon, the 10 teachers will go through an interview process and a second round of judging by a different panel that will choose the winner of the prestigious award.

The teachers were notified of the honor with surprise classroom visits from district and school-based administrators this month. Watch the district's video of the visits here.

The finalists are: Andrea Anderson, St. Petersburg High School; Karen Bulino, Seminole Middle School; Michelle Hajian, High Point Elementary School; Lauren Iovino, Boca Ciega High School; Angela Johnson-Drummond, McMullen Booth Elementary School; Nicole Kenngott, Plumb Elementary School; Autumn Lunin, Safety Harbor Middle School; Emily Maker, North Shore Elementary School; Candace Reed, Azaela Elementary School; Wendy Stryker, Safety Harbor Elementary School.

The teacher of the year will be announced on Monday, Jan. 28 at the Pinellas County Education Foundation's annual "Evening of Excellence" ceremony. More information on the event can be found here.

RELATED: Pinellas teacher of the year winners: Where are they now?

Contact Megan Reeves at Follow @mareevs.