Advertisement
  1. Life & Culture

A guide to all the premieres this fall, from new shows to old faves

Romany Malco Jr. JR, left, and Christina Moses star in ABC's drama "A Million Little Things." (ABC)
Romany Malco Jr. JR, left, and Christina Moses star in ABC's drama "A Million Little Things." (ABC)
Published Sep. 4, 2018

Time to block out some TV time: Your favorite shows are coming back, as well as some new (*) delights.

After Jim Parsons announced he was done, the nerdy sitcom The Big Bang Theory on CBS, TV's highest-rated show will end after its 12th season. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (CW) and The Last Ship (TNT), will also premiere their final seasons in the next couple months.

Some newbies this season show promise. Jim Carrey plays Mr. Pickles, a kids show host, on Kidding, Showtime's latest dramedy from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind director Michel Gondry. If soapy thrillers are more your style, Lifetime premieres You, which stars Gossip Girl alum Penn Badgley. Over 10 episodes, watch Badgley obsessively creep on a woman he meets.

Streaming channels continue to intrigue with big names. There's a Maya Rudulph/Fred Armisen dark comedy (Forever) on Amazon; a Tony Danza/Josh Groban buddy cop show on Netflix (The Good Cop); and Julia Roberts graces our small screens with Amazon's Homecoming, a psychological thriller directed by Mr. Robot's Sam Esmail.

Over on the main networks, get your tissue box out for A Million Little Things on ABC. After friends unexpectedly lose a member of the group, each one grapples with their own life. Over on CBS, Damon Wayans Jr. stars in Happy Together, a sitcom based on that time that pop star Harry Styles stayed with a couple in suburbia.

Lots of networks are bringing back old shows. We've all missed Candace Bergen's Murphy Brown. She returns to take on the Trump era on CBS on Sept. 27. CBS is also reviving Magnum P.I. with Jay Hernandez as Thomas Magnum, but we're much more excited about another revival: Sabrina the Teenage Witch. This one, The Chilling Adventure of Sabrina on Netflix, will be much darker and stars Kiernan Shipka (Mad Men) as the teen witch.

And don't miss the 70th Primetime Emmy Awards on NBC, hosted by SNL Weekend Update duo Colin Jost and Michael Che, on Sept. 17.

SOPRANOS, FRIENDS: There's a lot of new TV. Why not watch some old TV instead?

Make note: All dates and times are subject to change. Series on streaming services such as Netflix, Hulu and Amazon usually drop at 3 a.m. the day of its premiere. CBS will shuffle lots of series around in September and October to accommodate football.

September

Tuesday, Sept. 4

The Bobby Brown Story (BET, 9 p.m.)

*Mayans M.C. (FX, 10 p.m.)

*The Purge (USA, 10 p.m.)

Wednesday, Sept. 5

It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia (FXX, 10 p.m.)

Thursday, Sept. 6

I Love You, America With Sarah Silverman (Hulu)

Friday, Sept. 7

Marvel's Iron Fist (Netflix)

Cable Girls (Netflix)

Atypical (Netflix)

Sunday, Sept. 9

*REL (Special premiere: Fox, 8 p.m., moves to 9:30 on Sept. 30)

*The Bad Seed, movie (Lifetime, 8 p.m.)

2019 Miss America Competition (ABC, 9 p.m.)

Shameless (Showtime, 9 p.m.)

The Deuce (HBO, 9 p.m.)

The Last Ship (TNT, 9 p.m.)

*Kidding (Showtime, 10 p.m.)

*You (Lifetime, 10 p.m.)

Wednesday, Sept. 12

Dopesick Nation (Viceland, 10 p.m.)

American Horror Story: Apocalypse (FX, 10 p.m.)

Thursday, Sept. 13

Snatch (Crackle)

Friday, Sept. 14

BoJack Horseman (Netflix)

Ingobernable (Netflix)

American Vandal (Netflix)

*Norm Macdonald has a Show (Netflix)

*The First (Hulu)

*Forever (Amazon)

Sunday, Sept. 16

*Warriors of Liberty City (Starz, 8 p.m.)

Monday, Sept. 17

70th Primetime Emmy Awards (NBC, 8 p.m.)

Tuesday, Sept. 18

Tosh.0 (Comedy Central, 10 p.m.)

*The Hunt for the Trump Tapes With Tom Arnold (Viceland, 10:30 p.m.)

Friday, Sept. 21

*The Good Cop (Netflix)

*Nappily Ever After (Netflix)

*Maniac (Netflix)

Sunday, Sept. 23

9-1-1 (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Monday, Sept. 24

Dancing With the Stars (ABC, 8 p.m.)

The Voice (NBC, 8 p.m.)

The Big Bang Theory (CBS, 8 p.m.)

The Resident (Fox, 8 p.m.)

*Jane Fonda in Five Acts, special (HBO, 8 p.m.)

Young Sheldon (CBS, 8:30 p.m.)

*Magnum P.I. (CBS, 9 p.m.)

The Good Doctor (ABC, 10 p.m.)

Bull (CBS, 10 p.m.)

*Manifest (NBC 10 p.m.)

Tuesday, Sept. 25

NCIS (CBS, 8 p.m.)

The Gifted (Fox, 8 p.m.)

This Is Us (NBC, 9 p.m.)

*FBI (CBS, 9 p.m.)

Lethal Weapon (Fox, 9 p.m.)

NCIS: New Orleans (CBS, 10 p.m.)

*New Amsterdam (NBC, 10 p.m.)

Wednesday, Sept. 26

The Goldbergs (ABC, 8 p.m.)

Chicago Med (NBC, 8 p.m.)

Survivor (CBS, 8 p.m.)

Empire (Fox, 8 p.m.)

American Housewife (ABC, 8:30 p.m.)

Modern Family (ABC, 9 p.m.)

Star (Fox, 9 p.m.)

Chicago Fire (NBC, 9 p.m.)

*Single Parents (ABC, 9:30 p.m.)

Big Brother (CBS, 9:30 p.m.)

*A Million Little Things (ABC, 10 p.m.)

Chicago P.D. (NBC, 10 p.m.)

South Park (Comedy Central, 10 p.m.)

Thursday, Sept. 27

Grey's Anatomy (ABC, 8 p.m.)

The Big Bang Theory (CBS, 8 p.m., regular time period)

The Good Place (NBC, 8 p.m.)

Young Sheldon (CBS, 8:30 p.m., regular time period)

Law & Order: SVU (NBC, 9 p.m.)

Mom (CBS, 9 p.m.)

*Murphy Brown (CBS, 9:30 p.m.)

How to Get Away With Murder (ABC, 10 p.m.)

S.W.A.T. (CBS, 10 p.m.)

Friday, Sept. 28

Chef's Table (Netflix)

Made In Mexico (Netflix)

*Last Man Standing (Fox, 8 p.m.)

MacGyver (CBS, 8 p.m.)

*The Cool Kids (8:30 p.m.)

Hell's Kitchen (Fox, 9 p.m.)

Hawaii Five-0 (CBS, 9 p.m.)

Blue Bloods (CBS, 10 p.m.)

Dateline (NBC, 10 p.m.)

Sunday, Sept. 30

America's Funniest Home Videos (ABC, 7 p.m.)

60 Minutes (CBS, 7:30 p.m.)

Poldark (PBS, 8 p.m.)

The Simpsons (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Bob's Burgers (Fox, 8:30 p.m.)

Family Guy (Fox, 9 p.m.)

*God Friended Me (CBS, 8:30 p.m.)

NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS, 9:30 p.m.)

October

Monday, Oct. 1

*The Neighborhood (CBS, 8 p.m.)

*Happy Together (CBS, 8:30 p.m.)

Wednesday, Oct. 3

Survivor (CBS, 8 p.m.)

SEAL Team (CBS, 9 p.m.)

Criminal Minds (CBS, 10 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct. 4

Superstore (NBC, 8 p.m.)

The Good Place (NBC, 8:30 p.m.)

Station 19 (ABC, 9 p.m.)

Will and Grace (NBC, 9 p.m.)

*I Feel Bad (NBC, 9:30 p.m.)

Law & Order SVU (NBC, 10 p.m., regular time slot)

Friday, Oct. 5

*Into the Dark (Hulu)

Big Mouth (Netflix)

The Man In The High Castle (Amazon)

Fresh Off The Boat (ABC, 8 p.m.)

Speechless (ABC, 8:30 p.m.)

Child Support (ABC, 9 p.m.)

*Irreconcilable Differences (Reelz, 9 p.m.)

Saturday, Oct. 6

Versailles (Ovation, 10 p.m.)

Flight of the Conchords: Live at the London Apollo (HBO, TBA)

Sunday, Oct. 7

60 Minutes (CBS, 7 p.m.)

Dancing With the Stars: Juniors (ABC, 8 p.m.)

God Friended Me (CBS, 8 p.m.)

iHeartRadio Music Festival Night 1 (CW, 8 p.m.)

NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS, 9 p.m.)

The Walking Dead (AMC, 9 p.m.)

Shark Tank (ABC, 10 p.m.)

Madam Secretary (CBS, 10 p.m.)

Monday, Oct. 8

iHeartRadio Music Festival Night 2 (CW, 8 p.m.)

Tuesday, Oct. 9

2018 American Music Awards (ABC, 8 p.m.)

The Flash (CW, 8 p.m.)

Black Lightning (CW, 9 p.m.)

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Riverdale (CW, 8 p.m.)

*All American (CW, 9 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct. 11

Supernatural (CW, 8 p.m.)

Friday, Oct. 12

*The Romanoffs (Amazon)

Blindspot (NBC, 8 p.m.)

Dynasty (CW, 8 p.m.)

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (CW, 9 p.m.)

Sunday, Oct. 14

Supergirl (CW, 8 p.m.)

*Charmed (CW, 9 p.m.)

*The Alec Baldwin Show (ABC, 10 p.m.)

*Camping (HBO, 10:30 p.m.)

Monday, Oct. 15

Arrow (CW, 8 p.m.)

Tuesday, Oct. 16

*The Conners (ABC, 8 p.m.)

*The Kids Are Alright (ABC, 8:30 p.m.)

Black-ish (ABC, 9 p.m.)

Splitting Up Together (ABC, 9:30 p.m.)

*The Rookie (ABC, 10 p.m.)

Loudermilk (Audience, 10 p.m.)

Friday, Oct. 19

Lore (Amazon)

Sunday, Oct. 21

Wolf Creek (Pop, 10 p.m.)

Monday, Oct. 22

Legends of Tomorrow (CW, 9 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct. 25

*Legacies (CW, 9 p.m.)

Deutschland 86 (SundanceTV, TBA)

Friday, Oct. 26

*Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (Netflix)

Midnight, Texas (NBC, 9 p.m.)

Sunday, Oct. 28

*Patriot Act With Hasan Minhaj (Netflix)

Wednesday, Oct. 31

Tell Me a Story (CBS All Access; moves to Thursdays on Nov. 8)

Stan Against Evil (IFC, 10 p.m.)

November

Friday, Nov. 2

*Homecoming (Amazon)

House of Cards (Netflix)

Sunday, Nov. 4

Outlander (8 p.m., Starz)

Wednesday, Nov. 7

*Clique (Pop, 10 p.m.)

Sunday, Nov. 11

People's Choice Awards 2018 (E, 9 p.m)

Friday, Nov. 16

*She-Ra and the Princesses of Power (Netflix)

*The Kominsky Method (Netflix)

*The Fix (Netflix)

Saturday, Nov. 17

*Jonestown: Terror in the Jungle (SundanceTV, TBA)

Monday, Nov. 19

*The Little Drummer Girl (AMC, 9 p.m.)

Wednesday, Nov. 28

Vikings (History, 9 p.m.)