National Book Critics Circle awards go to Margaret Atwood, Louise Erdrich and more

(AFP/Getty Images [2009])
(AFP/Getty Images [2009])
Published March 17, 2017

NEW YORK — The National Book Critics Circle presented its annual awards at a ceremony here Thursday night.

Canadian novelist Margaret Atwood, whose works include The Handmaid's Tale, received the Ivan Sandrof Award for lifetime achievement.

The six book award winners were:

Autobiography: Hope Jahren, Lab Girl.

Biography: Ruth Franklin, Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life.

Criticism: Carol Anderson, White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide.

Fiction: Louise Erdrich, LaRose.

Nonfiction: Matthew Desmond, Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City.

Poetry: Ishion Hutchinson, House of Lords and Commons.

Previously announced awards presented were the John Leonard Prize for best first book, given to Yaa Gyasi for Homegoing, and the Nona Balakian Award in criticism to Michelle Dean.

Look for a column on the NBCC awards in the March 26 edition of Latitudes.