1. Arts & Entertainment

Trio of Rays all-stars to serve as 2012 Gasparilla grand marshal

Published Jan. 16, 2012

A trio of Tampa Bay Rays all-stars will serve as the grand marshal for the 2012 Gasparilla Parade of the Pirates, organizers have announced.

The three Rays players are pitcher David Price, pitcher James Shields and right-fielder Matt Joyce. The three were named to Major League Baseball's 2011 All Star Game last season.

"Ye Mystic Krewe of Gasparilla is very excited to have the Rays 2011 All Stars, Price, Shields and Joyce as our Grand Marshals for this year's Day Parade," said Philip R. Carroll, "captain" of Ye Mystic Krewe of Gasparilla. "When we contacted the Rays, we called for a 'single' but got a 'triple' instead!"

The 2012 Seminole Hard Rock Gasparilla Pirate Fest is scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 28, in Tampa and will feature the Gasparilla Invasion and Parade of the Pirates presented by Ye Mystic Krewe of Gasparilla, and the Gasparilla Pirate Fest Street Festival.

One main change in festival seating for 2012: Reserved chair seating is available on the water side of Bayshore Boulevard. This single row, chair seating provides guaranteed a front-row view. Tickets for this "First Mates" area are $40 per person.


This site no longer supports your current browser. Please use a modern and up-to-date browser version for the best experience.

Chrome Firefox Safari Edge