1. Florida

Fifty Florida schools apply for 'Schools of Hope' grant

[object Object]
Published Aug. 18, 2017

Mor than half of the Florida traditional public schools eligible to vie for newly minted "Schools of Hope" grants submitted applications by Tuesday's deadline, the Florida Department of Education reported.

The program was a late add-on to a House proposal that set aside millions of dollars to support the creation of new charter schools to serve communities where traditional schools have consistently performed poorly on state tests. Aiming to gain support in the Senate, where support for HB 7069 was shaky, bill writers added a provision to give $2,000 per student in added funding to up to 25 schools required to submit turnaround plans to the state.

Of 90 schools that could apply, 50 did so. Polk County led the way with eight submissions, followed by Orange County with six. Hillsborough County, which had one of the highest number of "failing" schools in Florida, applied for three schools, as did Pinellas County.

The State Board of Education is scheduled to select up to 25 grant recipients at its Sept. 13 meeting. Here's the full list of schools seeking the money:

Bay County: Lucille Moore Elementary, Springfield Elementary
Brevard County: Palm Bay Elementary
Broward: County: Dillard Elementary, Larkdale Elementary, Northside Elementary
Escambia County: Montclair Elementary, Warrington Elementary
Gadsden County: George W. Munroe Elementary
Hillsborough County: Chamberlain High, Forest Hills Elementary, Robles Elementary
Lee County: East Lee County High
Marion County: Oakcrest Elementary, Wyomina Park Elementary
Miami-Dade County: Homestead Middle, Lorah Park Elementary, Miami Carol City Senior High, Toussaint L'Ouverture Elementary, West Homestead K-8
Orange County: Catalina Elementary, Lake Weston Elementary, Lockhart Elementary, Memorial Middle, Rosemont Elementary, Tangelo Park Elementary
Palm Beach County: Gove Elementary, Palm Beach Lakes High, West Riviera Elementary
Pinellas County: Largo Middle, Midtown Academy, Mildred Helms Elementary
Polk County: Auburndale Elementary, Crystal Lake Elementary, Gibbons Street Elementary, Jere L. Stambaugh Middle, Kathleen Senior High, McLaughlin Middle, Mulberry Senior High, Walter Caldwell Elementary
Putnam County: CH Price Elementary, Georce C Miller Middle, Interlachen High, Mellon Elementary, Robert H Jenkins Jr Middle
Seminole County: Idyllwilde Elementary
St Lucie County: St Lucie Elementary, Weatherbee Elementary
Volusia County: Blue Lake Elementary, Palm Terrace Elementary