The Florida Legislature rejected a call for a special session on stand your ground. Here’s how Tampa Bay lawmakers voted.

The Special Session call would have needed the support of three-fifths of both Florida legislative chambers to pass. It fell well short of that.
Florida's Old Capitol, seen from North Monroe Street in Tallahassee.
Florida's Old Capitol, seen from North Monroe Street in Tallahassee.
Published Aug. 10, 2018|Updated Aug. 11, 2018

The Florida Legislature roundly rejected a call Friday for a special session on Florida's controversial stand your ground law.

The measure, which would have needed the support of three-fifths of both the Florida House and Senate to pass, fell by mostly partisan margins of 19 to 15 in the Senate and 58 to 33 in the House.

Calls to reform the law have grown louder in progressive circles in recent days following the killing of Markeis McGlockton in Clearwater on July 19.

Notably, Democratic state Rep. Janet Cruz voted for the special session. Her opponent in the race for the Senate District 18 seat, incumbent Republican Dana Young, voted against the session. We may hear more about that vote as we get closer to November in this key Senate race.

Read more Tampa Bay Times coverage on stand your ground:

No arrest in fatal shooting during argument over handicap parking space

In latest 'stand your ground' case, a question: Who started it?

From Clearwater church, Sharpton and gubernatorial candidates call for 'stand your ground' repeal

Here's how Tampa Bay-area lawmakers voted. "Yes" means they voted in favor of calling the special session. "No" means the lawmaker voted against it.


Up for re-election in 2018

Dana Young, R-Tampa: No
Tom Lee, R-Thonotosassa: Did not vote
Jeff Brandes, R-St. Petersburg: No

Not up for re-election in 2018

Darryl Rouson, D-St. Petersburg: Yes
Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton: No


Blaise Ingoglia, R-Spring Hill : No
J.W. Grant, R-Tampa: No
Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor: No
Larry Ahern: R-Seminole: No
Danny Burgess, R-Zephyrhills: No
Richard Corcoran, R-Land O' Lakes: No
Janet Cruz, D-Tampa: Yes
Ben Diamond, D-St. Petersburg: Yes
Shawn Harrison, R-Tampa: Yes
Chris Latvala, R-Clearwater: No
Amber Mariano, R-Port Richey : Did not vote
Wengay Newton, D-St. Petersburg: Yes
Kathtleen Peters, R-St. Petersburg: No
Jake Raburn, R-Valrico: No
Sean Shaw, D-Tampa: Yes
Ross Spano, R-Riverview: Did not vote
Jackie Toledo, R-Tampa: Did not vote
Lawrence McClure, R-Plant City: No