Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Florida Politics
  2. /
  3. The Buzz

Six local judges vie for Florida Supreme Court vacancies

Gov. Rick Scott wants to appoint new justices on his way out the door. Here are the 59 applicants who want to fill the three vacancies on the state's highest court, including the six from the Tampa Bay area.

Six judges who handle cases in the Tampa Bay area are being considered to fill three upcoming vacancies on the Florida Supreme Court.

The vacancies are a result of the impending departures of Justices Barbara Pariente, R. Fred Lewis and Peggy Quince, who all hit the mandatory retirement age of 70 and will leave the court in January.

Gov. Rick Scott, whose term is up in January and who is challenging U.S. Sen. Bill Nelson, has asserted his right to appoint new judges on his way out the door. A lawsuit filed by the League of Women Voters and Common Cause of Florida contesting Scott's right to make the appointments is being considered by the Supreme Court.

READ MORE: Rick Scott orders panel to screen nominees for Supreme Court

READ MORE: Lawsuit filed (again) over Gov. Scott appointing justices to state supreme court

The Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Commission, which is stacked with Scott allies, will consider on Thursday the list of 59 names, comprised mostly of circuit and appeals judges as well as private attorneys from across the state. The commission will decide who from the list advances in the process.

The list of local names includes:

■ Pinellas-Pasco Circuit Judge Michael Andrews: Became the youngest judge in Florida when appointed to county judge in 1997 and has been a circuit judge since 2003.

■ Second District Court of Appeal Judge J. Andrew Atkinson: A former assistant general counsel to the government who was appointed in January.

■  Hillsborough Circuit Judge Laurel Lee: A former federal prosecutor and wife of Florida Sen. Tom Lee, R-Thonotosassa. She was appointed by Gov. Rick Scott in 2013.

■ Pinellas-Pasco Circuit Judge Thomas Ramsberger: After 24 years working in commercial law, litigation, probate and family law, ran unopposed for the bench in 2012.

■ Second District Court of Appeal Judge Samuel Salario Jr.: A former attorney for Carlton Fields and whom the governor appointed to the 2nd DCA in December 2014.

■ Pinellas-Pasco Circuit Judge Pat Siracusa: Spent 11 years as a prosecutor before being elected to the bench in 2006.

Here's the rest of the list:

■ Ross Bilbrey

■ Alexander Spicola Bokor

■  Amy Brigham Boulris

■ Jeffrey Leonard Burns

■ Hunter Carroll

■ Howard Coates Jr.

■ John Daniel Couriel

■ Angela Jane Cowden

■ Cynthia Cox

■ James Daniel

■ James Scott Duncan

■ Manuel Farach

■ Jonathan Gerber

■ Bryan Scott Gowdy

■ Jamie Rutland Grosshans

■ Edward Guedes

■ Bradley Harper

■ Terrance Ketchel

■ Mark Klingensmith

■ Jeffrey Kuntz

■ Bruce Kyle

■  Barbara Lagoa

■ Norma Lindsey

■ Robert Long Jr.

■  Robert Luck

■ Mark Mahon

■ Scott Makar

■  Michael Patrick McDaniel

■ Mark Miller

■  Carlos Genaro Muniz

■  Patrick  O'Byrne Haden

■  Timothy Osterhaus

■  Eric Roberson

■  Clayton Robe1is

■  William Roby

■  Cymonie Rowe

■  Tatiana Radi Salvador

■   Leonard Samuels

■   Edwin Scales III

■   Stephen Senn

■   Anuraag Singhal

■  Jonathan Sjostrom

■  Elijah Smiley

■  Donna Greenspan Solomon

■  Adrian Soud

■  John Stargel

■  Anthony Michael Tatti

■   Matthew Thatcher

■  Kemmerly Thomas

■  William Thomas

■  Daryl Trawick

■  Waddell Wallace III

■  Thomas Winokur