Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Florida Politics
  2. /
  3. The Buzz

House Speaker Jose Oliva names more committee leaders

The House speaker is filling out his leadership team.

After announcing the chairmen of top committees last month, House Speaker Jose Oliva late Friday released a list of subcommittee leaders and committee assignments as lawmakers prepare for the 2019 legislative session.

  • Rep. Chuck Clemons, R-Newberry, will chair the Agriculture & Natural Resources Subcommittee
  • Rep. Holly Raschein, R-Key Largo, will chair the Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Heather Fitzenhagen, R-Fort Myers, will chair the Business & Professions Subcommittee;
  • Rep. Mel Ponder, R-Destin, will chair the Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee
  • Rep. Bob Rommel, R-Naples, will chair the Civil Justice Subcommittee
  • Rep. James Grant, R-Tampa, will chair the Criminal Justice Subcommittee
  • Rep. Charlie Stone, R-Ocala, will chair the Energy & Utilities Subcommittee
  • Rep. David Santiago, R-Deltona, will chair the Gaming Control Subcommittee
  • Rep. Jayer Williamson, R-Pace, will chair the Government Operations & Technology Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. MaryLynn Magar, R-Tequesta, will chair the Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Cary Pigman, R-Avon Park, will chair the Health Market Reform Subcommittee
  • Rep. Colleen Burton, R-Lakeland, will chair the Health Quality Subcommittee
  • Rep. Cord Byrd, R-Neptune Beach, will chair the Higher Education & Career Readiness Subcommittee
  • Rep. Randy Fine, R-Palm Bay, will chair the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Cyndi Stevenson, R-Saint Johns, will chair the Insurance & Banking Subcommittee
  • Rep. Clay Yarborough, R-Jacksonville, will chair the Justice Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Bobby Payne, R-Palatka, will chair the Local, Federal & Veterans Affairs Subcommittee
  • Rep. Scott Plakon, R-Longwood, will chair the Oversight, Transparency & Public Management Subcommittee
  • Rep. Chris Latvala, R-Clearwater, will chair the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Ralph Massullo, R-Lecanto, will chair the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee
  • Rep. Byron Donalds, R-Naples, will chair the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee
  • Rep. Brad Drake, R-Eucheanna, will chair the Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee
  • Rep. Jay Trumbull, R-Panama City, will chair the Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Rep. Rene Plasencia, R-Orlando, will chair the Workforce Development & Tourism Subcommittee.

Also Friday, Oliva's list said Rep. Bryan Avila, R-Miami Springs, will chair the Ways & Means Committee. The Ways & Means job became open this week when Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis chose Rep. Halsey Beshears, R-Monticello, to become secretary of the state Department of Business and Professional Regulation.