Here is every new gun law in the U.S. since the Parkland shooting

Protesters fill the fourth floor rotunda of the Florida Capitol outside of the House of Representatives demanding stricter gun laws in Florida on Wednesday, Feb. 21 2018. Since the Parkland shooting, states have passed dozens of new laws to address gun violence. [SCOTT KEELER   |   Times]
Protesters fill the fourth floor rotunda of the Florida Capitol outside of the House of Representatives demanding stricter gun laws in Florida on Wednesday, Feb. 21 2018. Since the Parkland shooting, states have passed dozens of new laws to address gun violence. [SCOTT KEELER | Times]
Published Feb. 13, 2019|Updated Feb. 13, 2019

Legislatures around the country have passed dozens of bills to address gun violence in the year since the 17 people died in a mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla.

Many of the new laws already in effect added restrictions on owning a firearm. For example, 18 of these laws disqualified more people from owning guns, 11 are so-called “red flag laws” that allow people to petition a court to take away firearms from someone who poses a danger to themselves or others, and nine states passed new prohibitions on bump stocks, a firearm add on that allows a semiautomatic weapon to fire at a rate comparable to a machine.

Yet other states expanded stand your ground provisions and allowed for the carrying of guns in schools and churches.

MORE PARKLAND COVERAGE: One year after Parkland, Florida lawmakers renew push to arm teachers -- with help from Ron DeSantis

Miami Herald special report: Since Parkland, 1,200 children have died from gun violence

In all, 123 new laws were enacted in the 364 days since the Parkland tragedy, according to data collected by the Associated Press. Below is a list of them all, organized by state.

State: Description

Alabama: Allows retired Baldwin County Sheriff’s office employees to receive a free firearm from the department

Alabama: Exempts retired law enforcement officers from an existing law that prohibits people from bringing firearms into certain venues, such as courthouses, health care facilities and sports arenas.

Alabama: Bars sheriffs from putting conditions on specific pistol permits, such as time constraints

Arizona: Exempts firearms worth not more than $2,000 from being taken to pay bankruptcy debts - calling them personal, family or household items

Arizona: Exempts all state and federal law enforcement officers from restrictions on carrying guns

Arizona: Requires courts to register injunctions against harassment and protection orders with the NCIC database within 24 hours of the filing; critics worry it will take away gun rights for those in disputes

Arizona: Changes the process for setting aside convictions, which can result in the restoration of firearms rights.

Arizona: Requires Department of Public Safety to submit a report to the governor and legislature each year on whether changes were made to reciprocity rules for concealed carry permits with other states

Arizona: Allows off-duty police officers to carry guns into bars and liquor stores

California: Exempts honorably retired police officers from the state ban on large-capacity magazine ownership

California: Adds harbor or port district agencies to a list of law enforcement groups exempt from a ban on certain “unsafe handguns”

California: Adds a toolbox or utility box as a place in a vehicle where people can lock handguns

California: Awaiting governor’s decision. Permanently bars gun ownership by those hospitalized for suicide prevention twice in one year.

California: Awaiting governor’s decision. Raises the age for buying rifles and shotguns from 18 to 21, same as the current requirement for handguns.

California: Awaiting governor’s decision. Sets tougher standards for obtaining a concealed weapons permit.

Colorado: Strengthens the crime of burglary of firearms to a class 3 felony and increase the minimum fine to $5,000.

Connecticut: Ban on bump stocks

Delaware: Increases to a Class E felony the crime of “straw purchases” for unqualified gun owners, making jail time more likely

Delaware: Creates lethal violence protection orders that can be sought by law enforcement or family members to temporarily strip firearms from individuals who are a danger to themselves or others

Delaware: Ban on bump stocks

Delaware: Sets out procedures for seizing firearms and ammunition from individuals who are mentailly ill and potentially dangerous to self or others

Florida: Requires the Department of Law Enforcement to allow firearms licensees to pay background check fees electronically, including by credit cards and funds transfers

Florida: Shields the name of people giving tips to law enforcment; closes some meetings of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission; shields the identities of school safety officers

Florida: Bans bump stocks, raise purchasing age from 18 to 21, imposes 3-day waiting period for gun purchases, creates risk protection orders allowing police to seize guns from persons who are deemed threats to themselves or others; creates new Office of Safe Schools

Georgia: Increases penalties for the crimes of theft of firearms, transferring firearms to prohibited persons, using an altered identificaiton mark on a firearm

Georgia: Increases criminal penalties to people who knowingly give guns to ineligible felons

Hawaii: Ban on bump stocks

Hawaii: Requires those who are disqualified from gun ownership to voluntarily surrender their firearms and ammunition within 7 days

Iowa: Allows people to openly carry firearms while operating or riding in snowmobiles and ATVs

Idaho: Encourages school boards to establish firearms safety education courses for primary and secondary school students

Idaho: Allows retired law enforcement officers to carry concealed weapons in otherwise restricted places like schools and stadiums

Idaho: Expands the “Stand Your Ground” law

Idaho: Allows retired attorneys to teach enhanced concealed weapons courses

Illinois: Creates firearms restraining orders. Family or household members and police can petition to temporarily strip gun rights from those who are potentially dangerous

Illinois: Expands the 72-hour waiting period for handguns to all guns

Illinois: Authorizes state regulation of firearms dealers

Indiana: Clarifies requirement that child care providers keep firearms, ammunition and other weapons in places that are inaccessible to children

Kansas: Bars fugitives, immigrants illegally in the U.S., persons convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence within the last 5 years, and persons subject to restraining orders from possessing weapons

Kentucky: Increases penalties for possession of a firearm by a felon when the felon commits a gun crime

Louisiana: Adds the possibility of “hard labor” to the sentence for the crime of illegally supplying a felon with a firearm

Louisiana: Clarifies that retired officers who resigned amid a serious misconduct investigation are ineligible for concealed carry IDs

Louisiana: Requires school safety plans to include parental notification procedures in the event of a shooting or other emergency situation

Louisiana: Allows persons with concealed handgun permits to carry within 1,000 feet of schools

Louisiana: Exempts former lawmakers from the crime of illegal carrying of weapons, as long as they are qualified annually

Louisiana: Defendants who are the subject of stalking protective orders are prohibited from possessing guns while it’s in effect

Louisiana: Makes it illegal for prohibited gun owners to bring firearms to hospitals

Louisiana: Makes clear that possessing, carrying or purchasing a firearm is a violation of a protective order; increases peanlty for fraudulent purchases or ammunition to up to 20 years in prison; creates the crime of illegal transfer of a firearm to a prohibited person

Louisiana: Allows churches to designate armed security guards who are authorized to carry concealed weapons

Louisiana: Changes state law to match federal law and declare that anyone who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity automatically loses the right to possess firearms; they can petition for review after 10 years.

Massachusetts: Creates extreme risk protection orders law

Maryland: Changes the process for appealing denials of handgun permits before the Handgun Permit Review Board, makes the board subject to the open meetings law

Maryland: Those who are guilty of a second violation of illegally carrying a concealed handgun will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year in prison

Maryland: Allows police, family or household members, and health care professionals to seek extreme risk protective orders for those who are considered dangerous

Maryland: Requires written notice to defendants who are charged and convicted of crimes that will disqualify them from possessing guns; requires courts to order the defendants to surrender all firearms in their possession

Maryland: Revises the “crime of violence” to include all gun crimes, not just handguns; other changes

Maryland: Bans bump stocks

Missouri: Allows individuals convicted of illegally carrying concealed before 2017 to apply for an order to expunge the records

North Carolina: Creates a statewide referendum in November on whether to amend state constitution to protect the right to hunt and fish

Nebraska: Changes provisions for petititioning to get firearms rights restored by those who have mental health disabilities

Nebraska: Exempts members of college firearm teams from law banning firearms on school grounds

Nebraska: Exempts any government records related to “firearm registration, possession, sale or use” from the public records law

Nebraska: Prohibits juveniles who have been adjudicated of certain crimes from possessing firearms until age 25, with some exceptions

New Hampshire: Allows carrying a loaded rifle or shotgun, muzzleloader or air rifle on a stationary motor vehicle, snowmobile, or aircraft; defines air rifle and allows hunting with a muzzleloader, crossbow or air rifle

New Jersey: Bans bump stocks, trigger cranks and gives owners 90- days to surrender them

New Jersey: Requires licensed health care professionals to tell law enforcement about patients who they believe may carry out an imminent act of physical violence; law enforcement then must investigate to determine whether the person should be disqualified from having them

New Jersey: Establishes procedures for police and family/household members to obtain extreme risk protective orders against persons who pose a significant danger

New Jersey: Requires background checks on all private sales and transfers of firearms, except those involving “immediate family”

New Jersey: Codifies a strict definition of the “justifiable need to carry a handgun” that private citizens must show in order to get a permit

New Jersey: Adopts the federal definition of armor piercing ammunition and makes it a crime to possess or manufacture it

New Jersey: Bans firearm magazines that can hold more than 10 rounds of ammunition (up to 15 had been legal previously)

New Mexico: Increases the penalty for a felon in possession of a firearm or destructive device

New York: Adds misdemeanor domestic violence crimes to the list of those that forfeit gun rights; requires long guns to be surrendered just like handguns in cases involving protection orders and conviction of serious offenses

Ohio: Expands civil protection orders to dating partners; those subject to the orders may not buy firearms

Ohio: Allows “tactical medical professionals” such as EMTs, nurses and physicians to get training and carry firearms while on duty

Oklahoma: Clarifies that retired officers can carry firearms “throughout” the state of Oklahoma

Oklahoma: Gives citizens the right to carry in places of worship and use deadly force to protect against intruders

Oklahoma: Allows sheriffs to charge up to $25 for fingerprinting handgun license applicants

Oklahoma: Allows eligible people to carry a handgun while scouting

Oklahoma: Allows correctional officers to keep or buy their service guns upon retirement

Oklahoma: Allows sheriffs and county boards to authorize employees to carry concealed handguns while working in courthouses

Oregon: Makes a stalking conviction a crime which causes a gun rights prohibition; requires state police to notify federal, state and local agencies when somebody fails a background check; extends state’s handgun dealer regulations to all firearm dealers

Oregon: Clarifies reporting requirements when law enforcement receives reports that a person bought a firearm despite being disqualified from doing so

Pennsylvania: requiring those convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence or subject to protective orders to give up their guns within 24 hours.

Rhode Island: Bans bump stocks, binary triggers and trigger cranks; makes it a crime to possess them

Rhode Island: Directs the state attorney general to report annually on the incidents and disposition of gun crimes

Rhode Island: Allows law enforcement agencies to petition for “extreme risk protection orders” allowing the removal of firearms from those who are a significant danger

South Dakota: Allows sheriffs to issue “temporary restricted enhanced permits to carry a concealed pistol” to people between ages 18 and 20

South Dakota: Requires applicants for a concealed carry license to pass a federal background check

South Dakota: Allows people to carry guns for self-defense in private schools and churches

Tennessee: Applicants for handgun carry permits are exempted from firing range and classroom hours requirements if they’ve completed a department of corrections firearms qualification in the last five years

Tennessee: Clarifies that retired officers qualifying for special lifetime handgun carry permits must have retired in good standing

Tennessee: Expands the definition of domestic violence crimes that result in the loss of gun rights

Tennessee: Blocks municipalities from charging anyone with a crime if they discharge a firearm in self-defense or defense of another, defense of property, or to stop a crime from occuring

Tennessee: Allows county commissioners who have permits to carry handguns in buildings in which the commission meetings are held

Tennessee: Authorizes people, businesses and governments to allow concealed carry of handguns on their property while prohibiting other weapons or the open carry of firearms; establishes posting requirements for “concealed firearms by permit only” signs

Tennessee: Allows some people whose gun rights have been restored to qualify for handgun carry permits; allows curent and former members of the military who are 18 to be eligible for permits

Tennessee: Allows law enforcement agencies to offer gun safety classes or programs for elementary school students, as long as they don’t use live ammunition or live fire

Tennessee: Authorizes community corrections officers in several counties to carry handguns while on duty

Tennessee: Requires the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation to contact local law enforcement where a person who has been adjuciated as mentally defective attempts to purchase a firearm

Tennessee: Allows uniformed TBI officers who retire after 25 years of service to receive a card and the officer’s service weapon

Tennessee: Allows off-duty law enforcement officers to serve as armed school security officers and spells out related procedures

Utah: Expands “stand your ground”

Utah: Expands the definition of domestic violence crimes that trigger the loss of gun rights

Virginia: Authorizes special “STOP GUN VIOLENCE” license plates

Virginia: Minors who are 14 and older and subject to mental health treatment are subject to same restrictions on possessing firearms as adults

Virginia: Clarifies that retired law enforcement officers shall surrender their special handgun permits when they return to work as a law-enforcement officer

Vermont: Increases penalties for carrying dangerous weapons with intent to injure; increases penalties for possessing a firearm while on school property

Vermont: Lets police seize firearms from people who are arrested for domestic assault under certain circumstances

Vermont: Establishes a school safety advisory group to develop guidelines and best practices to prevent school shootings

Vermont: Requires background checks on most private firearms sales; raise buying age with some exceptions to 21; bans high-capacity magazines at 10 rounds for a long gun or 15 for a handgun; bans bump stocks

Vermont: Allows state and local prosecutors to seek extreme risk protection orders

Washington: Persons who are subject to extreme risk protection orders, sexual assault protection orders and stalking protection orders are ineligible for a concealed pistol license; police may not return concealed pistol licenses that have been surendered until they ensure they are eligible

Washington: Allows anyone to file vountary waivers of their firearm rights with the clerk of court in any county

Washington: Makes it a crime to manufacture, sell or possess bump-fire stocks; establishes a buyback program

Washington: Adds domestic violence harassment to the list of offenses for which a person is prohibited from possessing firearms

Wisconsin: Creates a mandatory minimum 3-year prison term for the illegal possession of a firearm by certain offenders

Wisconsin: Creates the crime of purchasing a firearm with the intent to transfer to a prohibited person, “straw purchasing.”

West Virginia: Allows state attorney general investigators and reserve sheriff’s deputies to carry concealed while on duty

West Virginia: Bars business owners from prohibiting customers and employees from possessing legally owned firearms under certain circumstances; prohibits them from barring legal guns in their cars in the parking lot; provides immunity and liability limits

West Virginia: Allows people to carry concealed weapons at private and secondary schools that have policies allowing firearms; allows retired law-enforcement officers to posses firearms at schools under certain conditions

West Virginia: Awards service weapons to natural resources police officers when they retire, and allows old ones to be sold to current officers at fair market value

Wyoming: Allows people to carry concealed weapons in churches and other houses of worship

Wyoming: Expands stand your ground provisions