Times' all-Pinellas County wrestling team



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Sat. March 2, 2013 | Bob Putnam | Email

Times' all-Pinellas County wrestling team

Wrestler of the year: Jared Prince, So., Palm Harbor University, 120 pounds, 62-1
Why we picked him: After narrowly missing out on a state title last season, Prince found redemption, becoming the first wrestler from Palm Harbor University to win a state title. He finished the season with 62 wins, second-most in the state in any classification, and he had the highest win percentage (98.4) of any wrestler with at least 56 matches this season. Prince also finished with a state-best combined 55 pins and technical falls.

Most impressive accomplishment: Prince had one of the toughest roads to win at state. His biggest roadblock was getting past longtime nemesis James Flint of Brandon, a three-time state champion. Prince beat Flint in the Class 3A region tournament and in the state title bout. It was the first time a county wrestler had beaten a three-time state champion in the finals and Prince became the first county wrestler since Countryside Matt Turtzo in 2003 to beat a Brandon wrestler in the finals.

Did you know? Prince is ranked 15th in the country by Amateur Wrestling News and was named most valuable wrestler of two tournaments. His only loss was to Ryan Milhof of Collins Hill, Ga., who is ranked sixth nationally.
What’s next: Prince plans to wrestle in national tournaments this spring and summer, and will return to lead a veteran PHU team next season.

Coach of the year
Brad Sakevich, Palm Harbor University.
Guided a star-studded team to conference and district titles. At the 3A state meet, the Hurricanes had their first individual champion (Jared Prince) and finished fifth overall, highest in school history and the best by a county team this season.

First team
106 Matt Collora, Sr., Countryside, 48-6. Third place at 3A state meet
113 Andrew Mashburn, Sr., Countryside, 44-11. State qualifier in 3A.
120 Clarence Arrington, Sr., Dunedin, 39-0. Two-time state champ in 2A
126 Connor Prince, So., Palm Harbor University, 57-5. Third at state in 3A.
132 Mike May, Sr., Palm Harbor University, 38-12. State qualifier in 3A
138 Alex Lebhar, Sr., Dunedin, 45-10. State qualifier in 2A.
145 Josh Kampmann, Sr., Palm Harbor University, 50-14. State qualifier in 3A.
152 Aaron Hartman, Jr., Palm Harbor University, 56-3. State runnerup in 3A
160 Thomas Moser, Sr., St. Petersburg, 36-4. Fourth at state in 3A.
170 Luis Aldana, Sr., Dixie Hollins, 41-8. Sixth at state in 2A
182 Derrick Doss, Sr., Largo, 41-1. State runnerup in 2A
195 Alex Kruklinski, Sr., Northside Christian 39-2. State champion in 1A
220 Danny Bergstrom, Sr., Largo, 36-4. Third place at state in 2A
285 Andre Matthews, Jr., Dixie Hollins 40-5. State qualifier in 2A

Second team
106 Tim Sakow, Jr., Palm Harbor University, 52-11
113 Jared Wolfenbarger, Jr., Indian Rocks Christian, 37-8
120 Cain Martin, So., Countryside, 40-10
126 Jay Dugmore, So., Indian Rocks Christian, 44-7
132 Marc Allison, Jr. Dunedin, 47-9
138 Tucker Hardwick, Jr., Palm Harbor University, 41-14
145 Zach Gradich, Sr., Clearwater Central Catholic, 36-7
152 Dylan Renekar, So., East Lake, 29-8
160 Anthony Dampier, Jr., Dunedin, 27-14
170 Jake Timpanaro, Jr., Palm Harbor University, 38-17
182 Jake Laursen, Sr., Countryside, 36-14
195 Tyler Modlin, Sr., Palm Harbor University, 38-13
220 Brandon Mayhone, Sr., St. Petersburg 32-3
285 Noah Huntley, So., Admiral Farragut, 28-9

Honorable mention
Admiral Farragut
: Jack Pohler (106), Ricky Fuller (170), Novisa Petrusich (195); Boca Ciega: Brandon Mercado (113), Jacob Mohr (138), Rashawn Rucker (160); Clearwater Central Catholic: Kevin Anderson (106), Brian Vesey (113), Brennan Robinson (132); Countryside: Tucker Shivers (145); Dixie Hollins: Zack Addis (126), Adam Lovell (145), David Labbe (152), Austin Busch (160), Clay Redmond (220); Dunedin: Brandon Pastore (106); Gibbs: Roy William (220), Zachery Martin (285); East Lake: Patrick Brown (126), Matt Tuohy (138), Cory Dahm (195); Indian Rocks Christian: Michael Gingras (120), Conner Allshouse (138), Selbourne Steward (160), Shackelton Steward (220); Lakewood: Chris Granger (220); Largo: Hung Le-Do (113), Jared Ballew (132), Hunter Joseph (138); Northeast: Daniel Gutierrez (126); Northside Christian: Kamen Wilmington (132), Clifton Thomas (145); Osceola: Jacob Gorman (120); Palm Harbor University: Gunner Hurst (160), Tyler Orgera (182), John Tauber (220); Pinellas Park: Daniel Lehman (132), Aaron Liscinski (138), Chance Lecesse (195); St. Petersburg: Brandon Fox (120), Kenny McGhee (285); Seminole: Louis Rivera (120), Logan Hatfield (132); Tarpon Springs: Noah Fowler (120), Connor Menendez (145), Michael Bennett (152)


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours