1. Life & Culture

The St. Pete Pier has been recognized by the Urban Land Institute

The pier is a finalist in the institute’s 2022 Americas Awards for Excellence.
The St. Pete Pier at night.
The St. Pete Pier at night. [ MARTHA ASENCIO-RHINE | Times ]
Published May 17

The St. Pete Pier has been a popular place for residents and tourists alike since it opened in 2020. And now it’s getting national recognition from the Urban Land Institute as a finalist for its 2022 Americas Awards for Excellence.

The list of 21 finalists for the real estate-focused award consists of 19 U.S. developments that were evaluated across an array of factors including design, amenities, economic impact, community engagement, and sustainability. The other places around the country include Essex Crossing in New York City and two spots in Canada, including Saigon Park in Mississauga, Ontario.

“Amidst the evolving pandemic and the social, economic, and environmental disarray that it has highlighted, I am inspired by the range of projects that were submitted for the jury’s consideration, that elevate our sense of community and extol the human spirit through the built environment,” Marilynn Davis, senior advisor, HR&A Advisors, Atlanta, Ga., and chair of the 2022 ULI Americas Awards for Excellence jury, said in a statement on the Urban Land Institute’s website. “Whether designed for the public realm or for more focused audiences, and whether large or small, these endeavors employ the highest development and design principles to serve a range of objectives, be they urban revitalization, environmental stewardship, equity, or community-building.”

The projects must be financially viable and in operation. Awards categories this year include equitable development, low-carbon development, resilient development, small-scale development and urban open space.

Winners will be announced this summer and will become finalists in the institute’s 2022 Global Awards for Excellence, along with the winners of the Europe and Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence. Winners of the Global Awards will be announced in the fall.


This site no longer supports your current browser. Please use a modern and up-to-date browser version for the best experience.

Chrome Firefox Safari Edge