1. Sports

McCoy, Jackson back for fifth season among Bucs captains

Bucs coach Dirk Koetter announced Monday that players have voted for team captains for the 2016 season, choosing DT Gerald McCoy and LB Lavonte David on defense, QB Jameis Winston and WR Vincent Jackson on defense and WR Russell Shepard on special teams.

Those five will have a "C" on their uniforms as part of the honor -- for McCoy and Jackson, it's their fifth year as a Bucs captain, so they get a gold "C" patch on their uniforms. It's David's third year as a captain and Shepard's second, with Winston the only new captain, replacing retired guard Logan Mankins.

"It's always an honor to be recognized by your peers," McCoy said. "There's really nothing bigger than that ... standing out as a leader. Not everybody is called to be that, but when you are, I think it's right that you step up and be that. My teammates are recognizing me as that, so now it's my job to make sure I don't disappoint."

The Bucs will also have a sixth weekly captain that rotates in with the other five -- for the season opener at the Falcons on Sunday, that will be center Joe Hawley, who played in Atlanta before joining the Bucs last season.

"That's one of the biggest honors you can get in this league," Shepard said. "It's truly your peers. It's the guys you come here and work with every day, the guys you admire, guys that look up to you. It's really an honor. My mom didn't know what (the C) was last year, but hopefully she knows what it is this year."