1. The Education Gradebook

30 students named as 2017 Barnes Scholarship semifinalists

Thirty high school students have been selected as semifinalists for the 2017 Barnes Scholarship from a pool of 305 applications.

The Barnes Scholarship, sponsored by the Tampa Bay Times Fund and named for former chairman and CEO of Times Publishing Co. Andrew Barnes, was established in 1999 to help high-achieving college-bound students who have overcome significant obstacles and have financial need. The pool of semifinalists, made up of seven boys and 23 girls from 24 high schools across Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, Hillsborough and Citrus counties, will be further narrowed for interviews and up to four winners will be named. Recipients of the Barnes scholarship receive up to $60,000 to pay for four years at an accredited U.S. college or university.

The 30 students are:

Citrus County

Ajay Patel, Lecanto High

Hernando County

Benjamin LaFond, Hernando High

Hillsborough County

Gabriella Badmus, Cambridge Christian School

Joaquin Borggio, Steinbrenner High

Lyrik Courtney, Blake High

Jesica Hernandez, Leto High

Samantha Haapa, Bloomingdale High

Rebecca Jefferson, Blake High

Ashley Lowe, Sickles High

Samantha Lee, Steinbrenner High

Brandon Maxwell, Berkeley Preparatory School

Gillian Minnehan, Plant High

Kayla McDermott, Bloomingdale High

Keylonnie Miller, Strawberry Crest High

Catherine Purnell, Plant High

Disney Rattanakongkham, Wharton High

Kayla Skelton, Alonso High

Dawn Taylor, Berkeley Preparatory

Cortez Wiley, Jefferson High

Pasco County

Carter Bright, Land O'Lakes High

Sofia Mari Imperial, River Ridge High

Kelvine Moyers, Mitchell High

Hang Nguyen, Land O'Lakes High

Ashley Taylor, Bishop McLaughlin Catholic High

MacKenzie Totino, Fivay High

Pinellas County

Alexis Garcia, Lakewood High

Matthew Lovesky, Shorecrest Preparatory School

Multazem Oliver, Shorecrest Preparatory School

Alexis Peterson, St. Petersburg Collegiate High

Alexia Singletary, Palm Harbor University High