USF professors honored as AAAS Fellows

Published November 21 2017
Updated November 22 2017

Six University of South Florida professors whose research efforts span biology, engineering, chemistry and business have been selected as Fellows to the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the organization announced Nov. 20.

Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon the association’s members by their peers and is considered one of the top honors in academic research. The USF professors join 396 academic researchers who have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Paul R. Sanberg, USF senior vice president for research, innovation and knowledge enterprise, credited the professors for being role models and leaders.

"To be recognized as an AAAS Fellow is a significant career achievement," Sanberg said in a media release. "It honors the profound impact these individuals have in developing new knowledge and advancing the understanding of our world on every level, from the most basic organisms to complex human innovations."

The new class brings USF’s total number of AAAS Fellows to 62. This year, USF again ranks fourth worldwide for institutions with the most new AAAS Fellows. USF also tied with FSU for the highest number of new AAAS Fellows among institutions in Florida.

The new AAAS Fellows from USF are: Mya Breitbart, College of Marine Science; Clifford L. Henderson, College of Engineering; Jennifer E. Lewis, College of Arts and Sciences; Lynn Bloxom "Marty" Martin II, College of Arts and Sciences; Jason R. Rohr, College of Arts and Sciences; James R. Stock, Muma College of Business.