Hillsborough's Teacher of the Year finalists are named

Published Dec. 15, 2015

TAMPA — Fourteen Hillsborough County school district employees have been named finalists for the 2016 Excellence in Education awards, including seven who are vying for Teacher of the Year.

The finalists were notified of the news in surprise visits at their school. The winners of the Instructional Support Employee of the Year, Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year and Teacher of the Year awards will be named at a March 23 banquet at the David A. Straz Jr. Center for the Performing Arts. Last year's teacher winner, Diane McKee, went on to become Florida's Teacher of the Year.

The Hillsborough's Teacher of the Year finalists for 2016:

Jessica Addington, 37, Grade 5, Lockhart Elementary Magnet School

Nicholas Catania, 28, Grade 5, Gorrie Elementary School

Maria Gonzalez, 33, Spanish, Hillsborough High School

Emily Porteus, 26, gifted math, Williams Middle Magnet

Mary Beth Radigan, 62, Exceptional Student Education, Plant High School

Dawn C. Rubin, 41, reading, Sligh Middle Magnet

Gregory Verrill, 44, lead teacher, Lomax Elementary Magnet

The Ida S. Baker finalists:

Sherri Alvarez, 42, writing resource teacher, DeSoto Elementary School

Martha Cobb, 56, Exceptional Student Education, Graham Elementary School

Angela McKinnon, 44, guidance counselor, Young Middle Magnet School

Maybelly Pabon, English for speakers of other languages, Dickenson Elementary School

The Instructional Support Employee of the Year finalists:

Wayne Moore, school security, Just Elementary

Beth Roshaven, 45, secretary, Lomax Magnet Elementary

Sharon Gilmore-Barton, 61, assistant teacher, Lennard High School

Contact Marlene Sokol at (813) 226-3356 or Follow @marlenesokol