1. News

25 students named 2016 Barnes Scholarship semifinalists

Of nearly 200 applicants, 25 high school seniors from across the Tampa Bay area have been named semifinalists for the 2015 Barnes Scholarship, sponsored by the Tampa Bay Times Fund.

As many as four winners will receive up to $60,000 to pay for four years of education at an accredited U.S. college or university.

This year's pool of semifinalists spans 19 high schools in Pasco, Hernando, Pinellas and Hillsborough counties. The semifinalists — 13 boys and 12 girls — will be narrowed to a smaller group of finalists in January. Winners will be announced in February or March. Former Barnes recipient Dr. Kuon Lo, a Lakewood High School graduate, will address recipients and finalists at an April luncheon.

Established in 1999, the scholarships are named for Andrew Barnes, former chairman and CEO of the newspaper's parent company, Times Publishing Co. They have been awarded to dozens of high-achieving students who excel despite significant challenges. Barnes scholars have gone on to top-tier schools across the country, including a handful of Ivy League institutions.

The semifinalists

Hernando County

Cari Bean, Springstead High School


Kaley Barbara, Hillsborough High School

Makaiyla Boone, King High School

Tavian Campbell, Blake High School

Juan Forero, Tampa Bay Technical High School

Ngoc-Linh Huynh, Brandon High School

Emma Marcone, Steinbrenner High School

Jason Mazard, King High School

Naomi Mora, Berkeley Preparatory School

Ryan Nolan, Sickles High School

William Petro, Hillsborough High School

Morgan Prezzano, Gaither High School

Carly Serrano, Blake High School

Amanda Shelton, Newsome High School


Rachel Baber, Wiregrass High School

J. Eric Bujarski, Sunlake High School

Jaron Kaplan, Gulf High School

Juan Leis-Pretto, Gulf High School


Tyler Bittner, Lakewood High School

Edward Finch, Dunedin High School

Anna Larangeira, St. Petersburg High School

Annette Lott, Palm Harbor University High School

Kevin Solomon, St. Petersburg High School

Spencer Whitten, Seminole High School

Tarek Ziad, St. Petersburg High School