When to move over
I saw that one of America's most wanted criminals was recently caught when he didn't move over for an emergency vehicle. Is there also a law that requires slow drivers to get out of the passing lane?
While it's always been a road rule that slower drivers stay to the right, some drivers just don't follow that rule.
So now it's a law. A bill passed by the 2013 Florida Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Rick Scott in June stipulates that a driver in the "passing" lane who is driving slower than the posted speed limit by 10 mph or more can be ticketed by law enforcement. The fine is $60, and the law took effect July 1. The specific language, from House Bill 7125:
"On a road, street, or highway having two or more lanes allowing movement in the same direction, a driver may not continue to operate a motor vehicle at any speed which is more than 10 miles per hour slower than the posted speed limit in the furthermost left-hand lane if the driver knows or reasonably should know that he or she is being overtaken in that lane from the rear by a motor vehicle traveling at a higher rate of speed. This subsection does not apply to drivers operating a vehicle that is overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction, or is preparing for a left turn at an intersection."
Are there any restrictions for Florida drivers under 18 years old? Can they drive alone anytime at night? Is there a restriction on the number of passengers in the car?
All restrictions on young drivers in Florida are attached to the learners permit, which teens can get when they turn 15. The rules for the learner permit, according to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles:
• All drivers between 15 and 17 with a learners permit must avoid traffic tickets for 12 consecutive months before they can apply for a full driver's license. They must also complete 50 hours of driving, and 10 of those hours must be at night.
• If a driver with a learners permit gets a ticket, he or she can avoid the accompanying points by completing a Florida Traffic School safety course.
• Drivers with learners permits must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is over 21 and in the passenger seat.
• For the first three months with a learners permit, driving is restricted to the hours between 6 a.m. and 7 p.m.
• After the first three months with the permit, driving is restricted to the hours between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
You can go to www.dmvflorida.org/learner-permit-points.shtml for more details.
Compiled from Times and wire reports. To submit a question, email firstname.lastname@example.org.