Quilting club raises money for female veteran housing program

Raffle chair Betsy Schobert hands a check to Ciera Young, Athena Program staff member.
Raffle chair Betsy Schobert hands a check to Ciera Young, Athena Program staff member.
Published Jun. 18, 2013

Quilter's Crossing Quilt Guild of Palm Harbor recently presented a check for $2,645 to Tampa Crossroads Inc. for its Athena Program, a 16-bed transitional housing program in Ybor City that provides safe housing and treatment services specifically for homeless female veterans. Residents may stay up to two years, during which time they receive assistance with employment or benefits to help them regain independence.

The funds were the proceeds of a quilt raffle at the biennial Quilter's Crossing Quilt Show in January. In addition to its monetary gift, the guild also made a donation of several large quilts in patriotic, spring and batik designs.

Quilter's Crossing is a quilting club whose purpose is to promote cooperation and the exchange of ideas among those who love quilts and quilting, encourage high standards of design and technique, stimulate interest within the general area through quilt shows and demonstrations, and forward the club's philanthropic endeavors toward the community.

• • •

For half a century, the Dunedin Youth Guild has served the youth of the greater Dunedin community through scholarships, volunteerism and fundraising to support programs for the city's children.

This year the tradition continued. The guild awarded nine scholarships to graduating seniors totaling $17,500; a one-time $300 award went to the 2013 Turnaround Student; and former graduates from Dunedin received $13,000 in continuing scholarships. Award winners may attend any high school, but they must be Dunedin residents.

The recipients of the 2013 Dunedin Youth Guild scholarships and the schools they will be attending are Arthur Donner, $2,250, University of Florida; Andrea Williams, $1,500, Florida State University; Alex Lebhar, $2,000, University of Central Florida; Cassidy Bonovitch, $2,750, University of South Florida; Ryan Sheehy, $2,000, Stetson University; Jaime Everett, $1,500, University of South Florida; and Caitlyn Emery, $1,500, University of Florida.

Dunedin High graduate John Briggs Noun received the John Doglione Government Services Scholarship for $2,000. It is awarded to a student seeking a career in public service. This year, the recipient was chosen by Dunedin City Commissioner Julie Ward Bujalski.

Anna Lunder, a graduate of East Lake High, received the $2,000 Jeanette Albert Music Scholarship, named for a former guild member with a passion for music and the arts.

Dunedin High graduate Jessica Moskum, this year's Turnaround Student, received a one-time award of $300.

Send club news to Nova Beall at Tampa Bay Times, 1130 Cleveland St., Suite 100 A, Clearwater, FL 33755; fax to (727) 445-4119; and email