1. News
  2. /
  3. Pasco

Pasco city council candidate slates set for April elections

Voters in New Port Richey and Port Richey have choices to make.
LEAH MILLIS | Times  A full cup of "I Voted" stickers.
LEAH MILLIS | Times A full cup of "I Voted" stickers. [ Tampa Bay Times ]
Published Feb. 25
Updated Feb. 25

Residents of New Port Richey and Port Richey will select city council members in the April 13 municipal elections, but all other city and town positions in Pasco’s incorporated areas were filled without challenge by the end of the qualifying period.

In New Port Richey, there are three seats to be filled.

Peter Altman won the seat to complete the final year of Jeff Starkey’s term, who left the council several months ago when he moved out of the city. No other candidates qualified for that position.

Two other seats with three-year terms are available, and four candidates qualified: Kaitlin Connolly, Rachel Hagenbaugh, and current council members Matt Murphy and James Peters. Murphy was elected to the seat in 2018, and Peters was appointed by the council in November to Starkey’s seat when he first left.

Port Richey has two seats on its city council available and three candidates: Seth Kapp, Thomas Kinsella and John Maklary.

Kinsella and Maklary are current council members who were elected in a special election in September 2019 to finish the terms of two council members who left their seats during the contentious time after the arrest of former Mayor Dale Massad.

There is one polling place for each city for the election, and the health protocols in place for the general election in November will again be followed, including social distancing and strongly encouraged use of face coverings. Extra cleaning will be done and hand sanitizers will be available.

Those who have requested a mail-in ballot for the city election will receive one. Those who are unsure whether they are still on that list should check with the Supervisor of Elections office at

Pasco Supervisor of Elections Brian Corley said municipal elections don’t often get the turnout that countywide and state and federal elections do, which he said is ironic, since local elections often have a more direct effect on people’s lives. “Our job is to invite them to the party,” Corley said, but it is up to citizens to decide whether to attend.

Pasco County Supervisor of Elections Brian Corley
Pasco County Supervisor of Elections Brian Corley [ Times ]

No election will be needed in Zephyrhills, where only the two incumbent commissioners qualified for city council seats 3 and 5. Jodi Wilkeson will continue in Seat 3 and Charles Proctor will continue in Seat 5.

In San Antonio, two seats on the city commission were up for the 2021 election and just two candidates qualified. Incumbent Mark Anderson will remain on the city commission for another two-year term.

Maximilian D’Water will replace James Markley for a two-year term.

In St. Leo, Seats 2 and 4 were up for election and incumbent town commissioners Vincent D’Ambrosio and Curtis Dwyer were each reelected without opposition.

No elections were slated for the Dade City Commission this year.

Voters must be registered by March 15 to vote in municipal elections. City elections are non-partisan.