Tampa City Council election results

See results for six city council races and four city charter amendments.
Published March 7|Updated March 8

Here are the latest results for the 2023 Tampa municipal elections, including City Council races and charter amendment ballot questions. Incumbent Mayor Jane Castor is expected to easily win re-election, with only a write-in opponent whose name does not appear on the ballot.

Related: Mayor Jane Castor easily wins reelection

On the ballot are:

  • A rematch for the citywide District 1 seat between incumbent council member Joseph Citro and Alan Clendenin;
  • A District 2 citywide contest featuring council member Guido Maniscalco and former council member Mike Suarez;
  • Challenges to incumbents Lynn Hurtak (District 3, citywide) and Bill Carlson (District 4, South Tampa) by former state Sen. Janet Cruz and Blake Casper;
  • A District 5 race in which incumbent Orlando Gudes faces educator Gwendolyn Henderson. She is the sister of an aide for whom Gudes created a hostile work environment, a city investigation found;
  • Term-limited council member Charlie Miranda, running for a new seat in District 6, which covers much of West Tampa and parts of Seminole Heights and South Tampa, against four other candidates.

In any race in which no candidate secures more than 50 percent of the vote, the top two finishers will advance to a runoff election April 25.

The ballot questions concern amendments to charter sections 9.01 (regarding the creation of standing boards); 6.03 (regarding the appointment of city department heads); 2.02 (regarding term limits of City Council members); and 10.10 (regarding the Charter Review Advisory Commission).

Please use a modern browser to view the results. If you are viewing this page on our mobile app, please click here.