Tampa Bay Times recommendations: All our primary picks in one place
The Times Editorial Board's choices in the Aug. 18 primary
Florida's primary election is August 18.
Florida's primary election is August 18. [ MATT ROURKE | AP ]
This article represents the opinion of the Tampa Bay Times Editorial Board.
Published Aug. 4, 2020

The Tampa Bay Times editorial board has recommended the following candidates in the Aug. 18 primary. Click the link for the race to see the full recommendation.

U.S. Representative

District 13, Republicans: Anna Paulina Luna

District 14, Republicans: Christine Y. Quinn

District 15, Republicans: Scott Franklin District 15; Democrats: Adam Hattersley

Florida Senate

District 21, Republicans: Jim Boyd

State Representative

District 59, Republicans: Danny Kushmer

District 67, Democrats: Dawn Douglas

District 70, Universal primary: Michele K. Rayner

Pinellas County Sheriff

Democrats: Eliseo Santana

Pinellas County Tax Collector

Republicans: Joyell Bobala

Pinellas-Pasco Circuit Court Judge

Group 28: Evan Frayman

Group 44: Ashley Ward-Singleton

Pinellas County Commission

District 7, Democrats: Wengay Newton

Pinellas County School Board

District 1: Laura Hine

District 4: Eileen Long

District 7: Karl Nurse

Hillsborough County Sheriff

Republicans, Chad Chronister

Hillsborough County Clerk of Court

Universal primary: Cindy Stuart

Hillsborough County Tax Collector

Democrats: Nancy C. Millan

Hillsborough County Circuit Court Judge

Group 9: John Schifino

Group 19: Michael J. Scionti

Group 30: Helene Daniel

Group 31: Greg Green

Group 39: Steven Scott Stephens

Hillsborough County Court Judge

Group 7: Bill Yanger

Hillsborough County Commission

District 1

Democrats: Harry Cohen

Republicans: Scott Levinson

District 3

Democrats: Thomas Scott

Hillsborough County School Board

District 1: Nadia Combs

District 3: Jessica Vaughn

District 5: Henry “Shake” Washington

District 7: Lynn Gray

Editorials are the institutional voice of the Tampa Bay Times. The members of the Editorial Board are Times Chairman and CEO Paul Tash, Editor of Editorials Graham Brink, and editorial writers Elizabeth Djinis, John Hill and Jim Verhulst. Follow @TBTimes_Opinion on Twitter for more opinion news